We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If Anyone Knows Hotels..I Do!!!”
Review of Courtyard Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Bristol
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“If Anyone Knows Hotels..I Do!!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

There are probably few people who know hotels well enough to differentiate the hotel itself versus their travel experience. As a full time professional business traveler I believe I can do just that.
The Courtyard Marriott in Bristol scores as a five-star hotel experience. Oh yes I've stayed at the opulent Waldorf, the Resort or destination city grandeur palaces from NY to SF, and throughout the world. Let's compare at the level of hotel that you actually should or need to review. Each property has unique and distinctive tones. This Marriott property shines. Obvious to me is great management. The employees are pleasant and attentive. When the first person you speak to might be a desk person named April with a smile that takes the weary from a weary traveler, you know immediately that all will be good. When you return to this property months apart and they care enough to remember your name, what you like for meals, and other preferences not noted on the computer manifest, you again realize that they actually care about your stay. The hotel is a full service Marriott. It is extremely clean and conveniently located off Rt. 81 at exit 7. Although the food is very good and serving Starbucks is a plus, the area is surrounded by a wide variety of dinning choices a short walk away.
Whether you are staying in the Tri-Cities area or just passing through you will not be disappointed with making this hotel your choice. Heck Aprils smile is even good for the soul.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us Richard D! I am extremely happy to hear that you feel welcomed while staying with us, and appreciate the attention to detail from such a seasoned business traveler. I am excited to share your comments with April and the team and look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Hospitably,

C. Davis
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    162
    46
    15
    7
See reviews for
139
89
19
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicville, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

After driving for 12 hours from Upstate NY, I stopped here for the night. The Receptionist at the front fest was so accommodating. I was very tired and hungry and asked where I could get a Caesar Salad and a glass of wine and she gave me the menu for the restaurant in the hotel. Once in the room I called and it arrived within 15 minutes.

I loved the Memory foam mattress and six pillows on the bed! It was a wonderful nights stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleM219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review MicheleM219! I'm happy to hear that you received a Courtyard Bristol welcome after such a long drive, and hope that the rest of your trip was a uneventful one. We look forward to serving you the next time you travel through the Tri Cities area!

Hospitably,

C. Davis
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I was in Bristol for work and stayed here. Great location, It has lots of good restaurants and shopping very close by. Hotel was nice, my room had a great view of the mountains . Reasonably priced breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaleW795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review Gale W! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that it was a productive work visit. The next time you visit us, mention that you enjoyed the mountains and we will prepare another great view for you!

Hospitably,

C. Davis
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We usually do not stay at Courtyards because they do not have free breakfast. However we stayed here one night and were really impressed with the hotel. The room was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was open and had plenty of room. Our stay was a quick overnight one but would be comfortable staying for a longer time in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lulu0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review of Courtyard Bristol lulu0202! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us, and we look forward to serving you the next time you are in the Tri Cities area.

Hospitably,

C. Davis
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I just want to start this out by saying that as a business traveler, I have stayed at my share of hotels and this was by far the best experience I have had. Guest services was excellent, and Kaitlyn not only took the time to introduce the go board to me but she also printed out directions to near by restaurants that she recommended. Guest services made sure my experience was far beyond Marriott expectation. The room was excellent and very clean. This is definitely my number one hotel of choice when I am in the area. I give this hotel 5 stars!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busybee141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review busybee141! I am so happy to hear that Katelyn, and the Guest Services team, made sure that your stay with us went beyond your expectations. I will be excited to share your comments with the team and look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Hospitably,

C. Davis
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
469 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was a very good Courtyard, clean and well managed, and just what we wanted for a one-night stop. It is a bit hard to find coming off I-81 from the south. Yes, you really need to turn left immediately after going under the highway, even if the road looks like an alley. The lobby is fresh and bright, the rooms spacious and comfortable. There are several restaurants within walking distance, although the neighborhood is nothing special, near a movie theater and shopping center. I'm not sure what other reviewers experienced, but for us this what a very good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking lot rather than facing I-81. Hotel was quiet, but given the heavy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EC13091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
EC19031, I am happy to hear that your stay with us was just what you wanted for your one-night stop, and that you found your room clean and comfortable! Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to serving you the next time your travels bring you through the Tri Cities area.

Hospitably,

C. Davis
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Virginia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is my fifth time here. Always look forward to staying. Room was great, super view out the window. Very easy to get to the hotel from I-81. A whole bunch of restaurants at this exit, some you can walk to from the hotel. Same complaint with ALL renovated Courtyards; they got rid of the nice breakfast for the Bistro and there's no free coffee in the lobby. What's up with that? If I wanted Starbucks' coffee, I'd go to Starbucks. Their coffee was just fine. Still don't care at all for the "new improved" breakfasts but again that's true of ALL Courtyards.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 414Bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us 414Bookworm! I am delighted to hear that you look forward to your visits to Courtyard Bristol, as we are always excited to see our return guests. We look forward to your next visit and our next opportunity to serve you.

Hospitably,

C. Davis
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
7.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bristol
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bristol
Hampton Inn Bristol
#2 of 6 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Bristol
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 13 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bristol

Property: Courtyard Bristol
Address: 3169 Linden Dr, Bristol, VA 24202-5809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for Bristol, VA hotels, then you'll love our Courtyard Bristol hotel - located in the heart of the "birthplace of country music." Our Bristol, Virginia hotel is just off I-81, near Bristol Motor Speedway and Bristol Dragway - home to several NASCAR and NHRA races. Music buffs will love the Rhythm and Roots Festival, the Crooked Road Music Heritage Trail, The Creeper Trail, and the Birthplace of Country Music Cultural Heritage Center. Our newly renovated lobby features modern decor, complimentary Wi-Fi, and the GoBoard, an interactive touchscreen that allows guests to get information about dining, entertainment, and sightseeing options in the local area. Drop by The Bistro for a healthy breakfast. Relax in our indoor pool, work out in the fitness room, or unwind at our bar. Planning an event? Let us know - our versatile space hosts up to 40. Few Bristol, VA hotels can match our customer service, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bristol Hotel Bristol
Bristol Marriott
Bristol Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing