We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and comfort”
Review of Courtyard Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Bristol
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

You shouldn't stay anywhere else in Bristol. April R. Is the best desk clerk. What a great representative of Marriott. The first we saw after a long day on the road was her great smile ad her warm greeting. She was helpful with dinner recommendations. Free wifi, very comfortable room, nice pool and gym. Very clean and didn't have that so many places do.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Willie'sMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for your review Willie'sMom! We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again if you are back through the Tri Cities area.

Hospitably,

Chris Davis
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 425 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great hotel for our first time to 'Thunder Valley'. All the staff were very friendly; rooms were exceptionally clean. Our room faced away from the interstate and was very quiet. Free Wi Fi was great. Didn't try the breakfast in the hotel but there is a great Ihop just a short walk down the street. Couldn't ask for a better hotel in this beautiful area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The rooms allocated for Booking.com customers ar at the rear of the hotal which puts your window less than 30 yards from the Interstate Highway, which is busy 24/7.

This, together with the exceptionally poor window quality means one may as well be sleeping on the Interstate, YOU WILL GET LITTLE OR NO SLEEP HERE. Getting moved to a quieter room took 3 days and a lot of stressful interactions with unfriendly and sometime downright rude staff.

As for breakfast, well at $25 for two people this pushes up the cost of staying here by 20%. The food was in itself OK but choice was severely limited.

Wi-Fi drops out all the time and there is only one pc in reception so there is always a cue if you need to use it.

Convenience store !!! more like glorified vending machine I would say. However there are some excellent eateries well within walking distance so forget their Bistro and go walkabout for all your food needs, even breakfast.

The Gym has two running machines and a rower machine, hardly well equipped. The 'swimming pool' is just 8ft square (salt water) so more of a glorified bath rather than a pool where one could actually do any swimming. The hot tub is just that, a tub with only 2 bubble jets not really any good.

Staff were rude and had a very racist attitude towards both myself and my wife.

We were overcharged and my Visa card had 3x holds put on it by the inept receptionist totalling $2500. These amounts were 3x more that our total stay cost and were without my knowledge or approval. This was done by the receptionist in the middle of the night !! not when i arrived and opened the room. consequently when we went shopping my car was already at its limit. RUINED THE HOLIDAY it did. These additional holds were still in place when we got home and I had to contact my card company to get them removed. This was despite the hotel manager assuring me that he had removed them. Liars.

Room Tip: Do not book with an internet discount site. This hotel allocates its worst most noisey rooms to inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your review Panda B and we are very sorry to hear that you found your stay at Courtyard Bristol a disappointing one.

Our top priority is to provide excellence in customer service ensuring that every guest experiences an enjoyable stay at our property, every day. Our rooms are assigned to our guests daily based on any requests made during the reservation process and also depending on current availability; we place no relevance to what site the rooms are booked through or rate that is given.

Our Market was designed to provide snacks, drinks, and amenities as a convenience to our guests who may need basic amenities without the inconvenience of having to leave the property to purchase these items.

At check-in, we do request a pre-authorization of funds to cover the room and tax for the stay plus any incidental charges. If these authorizations are utilized during the stay, additional pre-authorization requests are made.

Please accept our apologies for the disappointment you experienced while staying with us and we do hope to have an opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Hospitably,

Chris Davis
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stay here about twice a year. Last visit was March. This visit, was again, very pleasing. Easy check in with a very lovely lady who had a smile and pleasant greeting for us. Nice chitchat, and felt welcomed. Room was large. 2 queens needed this visit. Very clean without harsh scent of cleanser. Our room faced Rt 81 and had a small balcony which was nice. Noise level with door closed was ok. Could still hear trucks, but that doesn't bother me much. Lovely view of koi pond and picnic pavillion below us. Bed very comfy. Bath very clean and large. Hot tub was hot but not too hot. Could spend a good 20 minutes in it without overheating. Overall, a wonderful stay again. Very consistent hotel. Love the cafe downstairs. Meals are additional, but usually good and convenient. Will be back again!

Room Tip: Get room on opposite of 81 if you prefer quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broadreach11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

good for business, close to resturants, conveniently located off I-81,Check-in was easy and efficient and the lobby was clean and spacious, near a movie theater, Check-in was easy and efficient and the lobby was clean and spacious.

Room Tip: away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your review James J! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you the next time you are in the Tri Cities area.

Hospitably,

Chris Davis
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for the night on the way to visit family. The hotel was conveniently located off I-81 and we got a great price by booking two weeks in advance. Check-in was easy and efficient and the lobby was clean and spacious.
Our room was very nice and the crib we had requested was already set up and ready for a tired baby. The bed was comfortable and as we were on the front side of the hotel was also quiet (the back side of the hotel faces the Interstate and is probably noisier).
The Bistro was great to grab breakfast on the go, but was a little bit pricey. I suppose that is the price of convenience. It should be noted that the Courtyard chain of hotels does not offer a "free" breakfast which some people may find a deterrent.
Overall, this is a pretty nice hotel and a good place to stay for the night or a little longer.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the front of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This Courtyard is directly off I-81. It is surrounded by tons of restaurants and right across the street from a movie theater. Once you check in you can walk to all of the restaurants both for breakfast and dinner. Of course you can also eat at the hotel as it has the new Bistro concept. The hotel is nice and up to date with spacious rooms. It is the only Marriott property within 30 miles so I always stay here when I am in the Bristol area. I have stayed here numerous times. The staff is friendly and helpful with the local area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you for your review Glen B! We are delighted to hear that you enjoy staying with us and as always we truly appreciate you choosing Courtyard Bristol while in the Bristol area. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Hospitably,

Chris Davis
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Conference Center
7.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bristol
Hampton Inn Bristol
#2 of 6 in Bristol
532 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 13 in Bristol
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bristol

Address: 3169 Linden Dr, Bristol, VA 24202-5809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range: $113 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for Bristol, VA hotels, then you'll love our Courtyard Bristol hotel - located in the heart of the "birthplace of country music." Our Bristol, Virginia hotel is just off I-81, near Bristol Motor Speedway and Bristol Dragway - home to several NASCAR and NHRA races. Music buffs will love the Rhythm and Roots Festival, the Crooked Road Music Heritage Trail, The Creeper Trail, and the Birthplace of Country Music Cultural Heritage Center. Our newly renovated lobby features modern decor, complimentary Wi-Fi, and the GoBoard, an interactive touchscreen that allows guests to get information about dining, entertainment, and sightseeing options in the local area. Drop by The Bistro for a healthy breakfast. Relax in our indoor pool, work out in the fitness room, or unwind at our bar. Planning an event? Let us know - our versatile space hosts up to 40. Few Bristol, VA hotels can match our customer service, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bristol Hotel Bristol
Bristol Courtyard
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing