We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good stay (one bad receptionist)”
Review of Courtyard Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Bristol
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A very good stay (one bad receptionist)”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

When we signed in the girl who was checking us in was almost rude, just had a very bland attitude towards us. Our puppy had gotten ahold of our credit card that we had used to reserve it and it wouldn't read; she had told us that it would be no problem but we ended up having to go to the bank to ensure our funds were there (which they were, like we said) we even deposited the cash we were carrying, just in case. The only reason we knew about the cafe/diner area at all is because the very nice receptionists at the other end of the desk were explaining in detail to everyone else checking in. Finally after an hour of annoying waiting, she says "let me try one more thing" and magically it worked with no issues. Why she waited until we were fed up with everything to try another method, I will never know. If we would've been able to get our money back from the reservations, I would've left and gone to another hotel. Despite everything at check-in, everything else was amazing. Indoor pool is nice and warm, a little small but wasn't crowded at all (the hot tub was out of order but that wasn't a problem for us), all other receptionists/clerks were very nice and accommodating, bar/cafe seemed well stocked and not too expensive. The bed is probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in at a hotel, if I had the money to spare I would no joke buy a mattress of my own from there! Large shower and in-room jacuzi tub, too. After dealing with check-in, I was very pleased with our stay and glad we didn't end up leaving. We ended up staying an extra night, too!

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the back (on the bottom floors) will hear the trashcans being taken out and rol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jk922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property Jk922. We were so glad to read that you slept well while during your visit and if you are ever in the market for a new bed in the future you can find any of our items by visiting www.shopcourtyard.com. Please accept our apologies for any delays and/or confusion on our part that was experienced during your check-in process. Our guests are the center of our focus here at Courtyard Bristol and we strive to provide exceptional customer service to every guest, every day. We hope to have you visit us again so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with the outstanding customer service that has come to be associated with Courtyard Bristol.

Hospitably,

Chris Davis
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    164
    46
    15
    7
See reviews for
140
89
19
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
177 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel was nicer than I expected and I will stay here again. Lobby and room were fresh and clean with comfortable atmosphere. Convenient location near highway and restaurants. Would definitely recommend if you are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor. We were very excited to read that your experience was better than expected and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Me and my 3 girlfriends went on a mountain getaway and needed a hotel near TRI airport for an early departure. Reservations were made online and we checked in around 4pm. Every person who we came into contact with was exceptionally nice. Hotel is very clean and there is a computer at a stand up type print your boarding pass counter for those who are in a hurry. Beds and pillows were comfy. Not a lot of noise. We found this hotel to be pretty enjoyable. I highly recommend if you need a Bristol Hotel!

Room Tip: Top floor had no noise from outside the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property and we were glad to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We would love to have your visit us again and hope that your mountain getaway was a great one that produced many stories for the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Although a small disappointment that there was no full kitchen service/room service, that was the only disappointment. The hotel was clean, the staff was excellent, the atmosphere was fabulous. The lobby/seating area was fantastic, always clean, comfortable and you can even sit by the fire or watch tv.

As a smoker, it's upsetting to have to stand in front of a hotel at 6 a.m. and this Courtyard had a 'courtyard' in the back, that did not lock after hours, had nice chairs and a gazebo.

It was well-located near a cinema and dozens of restaurants and shopping. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it for anyone traveling for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our property. We were excited to see that your stay was an enjoyable one and we hope to see you again. If you would like a room with a refrigerator and microwave, just let us know during the reservation process and we will ensure that the request is noted on the reservation. Also, let the front desk know of any requests you may have while visiting us and we will be glad to deliver any amenities or food orders from The Bistro to your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsgrove, nj
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My daughters and I spent a long weekend here and loved it! We found the staff very courteous and helpful. The atmosphere overall was very nice, clean, well kept and the common areas very relaxing. Our only complaint was that the hot tub was not working!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our property. We were excited to read that your stay was an enjoyable one. Customer service is our top priority at Courtyard Bristol and your satisfaction is our focus. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced due to the current maintenance on our hot tub. As always, thank you for choosing Courtyard Bristol during your long weekend and we hope to have you and your daughters visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel a couple years ago and then recently for two nights. the staff is exceptional and the rooms are clean and comfortable. My one drawback that prevented a better rating was that I had to do laundry. the washer and dryer are horrible. My clothes are soaking wet coming out of the washer and the dryer takes forever to dry them. If anyone at the hotel reads this then IT IS TIME TO REPLACE THE WASHER AND DRYER.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property and we truly appreciate your choosing Courtyard Bristol while in the Tri-Cities area. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to problems with the laundry facility. Our maintenance department is currently inspecting the washer and dryer to ensure that any prolems found may be repaired. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

No free breakfast. Bed was not very comfortable. The air conditioner did not work and the room got too hot at night. Plus we paid $129 for the room and expected a better value. Location was good. Near theater and lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awesome1jh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our property. We were sorry to read that your stay with us was less than exceptional. Our maintenance department is currenlty inspecting air conditioning units in each room to ensure that they are functioning properly. Customer service and a flawless hotel experience is our top priority and we value the feedback provided to us from our guests. Again, thank you for taking the time to leave this review and we do hope to have you visit our property again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
7.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bristol
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bristol
Hampton Inn Bristol
#2 of 6 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Bristol
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 13 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bristol

Property: Courtyard Bristol
Address: 3169 Linden Dr, Bristol, VA 24202-5809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for Bristol, VA hotels, then you'll love our Courtyard Bristol hotel - located in the heart of the "birthplace of country music." Our Bristol, Virginia hotel is just off I-81, near Bristol Motor Speedway and Bristol Dragway - home to several NASCAR and NHRA races. Music buffs will love the Rhythm and Roots Festival, the Crooked Road Music Heritage Trail, The Creeper Trail, and the Birthplace of Country Music Cultural Heritage Center. Our newly renovated lobby features modern decor, complimentary Wi-Fi, and the GoBoard, an interactive touchscreen that allows guests to get information about dining, entertainment, and sightseeing options in the local area. Drop by The Bistro for a healthy breakfast. Relax in our indoor pool, work out in the fitness room, or unwind at our bar. Planning an event? Let us know - our versatile space hosts up to 40. Few Bristol, VA hotels can match our customer service, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bristol Hotel Bristol
Bristol Marriott
Bristol Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing