We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Ridge Bed & Breakfast & Winery Tours

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgewater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thistle Ridge Bed & Breakfast & Winery Tours
Save
You added Thistle Ridge Bed & Breakfast & Winery Tours to your Saves list
11 Pops Lane, Bridgewater, VA 22812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Bridgewater B&B and Inns
Virginia
2 reviews
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Thistle Ridge last Friday and Saturday night to attend JMU family weekend. What a wonderful experience. We stayed in the Blue Room . It was so spacious, king size comfortable bed, a tub that you can totally relax in and very clean. It was like being home away from home! Dixie and Scott were wonderful. Had a great time talking to them, spending time on their back deck taking in the awesome mountain stars and had the company of some very wonderful and loving cats. Very quiet. The breakfast were wonderful. Dixie sure can cook and we delighted in everything that was served to us. Each night they had a dessert waiting on you which ended the day just beautiful. I highly recommend it and have told all my friends and facebook friends about it. We are looking forward to going there again.

Lynn and Debi

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue room and loved it but we would have no problem in staying in any room availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaBballmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by what Scott and Dixie have done with this old farmhouse. We stayed in the Yellow Room - they've completely renovated the room with a huge soaking tub (with handheld shower attachment), superb bed, and comfortable furniture.

The property is located in a rural setting with all sorts of animals on their property. We met two friendly cats outside. The location is so quiet and peaceful.

Breakfast was excellent. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AppleTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I just returned home from two nights at Thistle Ridge B&B. We were given the Living Social deal for Christmas, but after looking at the prices on their website, the rooms are more than reasonably priced regularly.

I'll preface by saying that earlier this year, we stayed at a b&b in another state and had a terrible experience, so after that we were weary about coming to another one. We weren't huge b&b people to begin with, but we were willing to give another a try. As soon as I walked in and was greeted by Dixie, I felt at ease. The farmhouse is from the 1800s, so it looks older from outside, but the inside has been renovated. Upon walking inside off the main porch, there is a check-in desk, a mini-frige (with complimentary water and snacks), and a vintage desk with various tea accoutrements (yay!). Off to the right is the main sitting room, and off that is the sun porch where breakfast is served. In the main sitting room, Dixie showed us the bookshelves and the cabinet with games and DVDs for our use.

We stayed in the Yellow Room which is upstairs in the main farmhouse. The other two rooms are in the cottage right behind it. Usually I am not into the decor in b&bs - again, I was a skeptic - but I loved our room. It is painted a pretty, buttery yellow, with decor to match the farmhouse vibe. Dixie explained how old the building was and how they renovated the insides, so everything looked updated. The bathtub was huge (good thing, because I'm pushing six feet tall!), and so was the comfy king bed. The bathroom had all new fixtures as well. And a major plus for me was how clean everything was. Clean, clean, clean!

Scott and Dixie showed us around the backyard and the pasture, where they have a garden, horses, llamas, goats, dogs, sheep, chickens, and even a few beehouses! We had fun walking around and checking out the animals. Sitting right on the back porch at night overlooking the hill with the horses at sunset was very relaxing.

Every night Scott & Dixie have snacktime, where they deliver a tray to your room or downstairs if you are playing a game or sitting outside. We looked forward to our little evening snack, and missed having it tonight now that we're home! Breakfast was perfection. The sun porch is just lovely, decorated in farmhouse style as well. Dixie's cooking is wonderful! Breakfast was two courses both days, but the menu changed daily. (I'm craving the applesauce cake right now!)

Needless to say, we really enjoyed our time here. Considering we were skeptical after having a bad experience elsewhere a few months ago, no sooner did we get to our room here at Thistle Ridge when we knew this place was going to be much different. Before checking out today, we asked about dates later in the year so we can come back. We really enjoyed it that much! Dixie and Scott are wonderful hosts and really run a great place. The area is beautiful and located an hour or less from many fun places (we visited Charlottesville and Monticello). We recommend this b&b to anyone. We're in our 20s, and other couples there were older than us, but everyone was very nice. Definitely give Thistle Ridge a try!

Room Tip: There are only three rooms: Green, Blue, and Yellow. Green and Blue are accessed from the outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliciainw0nderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I just spent a wonderful weekend at the Thistle Ridge Bed and Breakfast...in short, it was an all around great experience! We have nothing bad to say about it...the owners Scott and Dixie were totally accommodating, helpful, not pushy, had just the right touch of conversation with guests without "hanging on" to them. We wonderful little snacks in our room waiting for us each evening, a great breakfast each morning, (Dixie sure can cook!), as well as company from the 3 cats on the premises, really friendly:) We made friends with Sugar the goat, as well as a couple of their llamas! We loved sitting out in the yard or on the back deck watching the sunsets and listening to the crickets start up each evening...what else can we say? Our hosts do a wonderful job of running this small (3 guest rooms) inn, and make you instantly feel like old friends. Definitely should be on your list to stop here if you are visiting the area!

Room Tip: The Blue Room has a really great two person tub, my wife loved the bubble bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Scott and Dixie are great hosts and will made sure we had everything we needed. The price was totally reasonable for the newly renovated and lovely room we stayed in. The b&b is located in scenic farm country but is a short drive from nearby Harrisonburg where we had dinner. Scott and Dixie called us prior to our arrival to ask about our dietary needs and Dixie made us a delicious breakfast and even leaves a snack in your room in the evening! This is a great place to stay, the hosts pay attention to detail and take really good care of their guests. We are just sorry we didnt have time for the wine tour!

Room Tip: I recommend the blue room because the bathroom is very nice. It is larger than the yellow room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agewirtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at this B&B the end of June for a family reunion in the area. It was perfect and so were Dixie and Scott. The rooms were great and the beds were wonderful. Our room (Blue) was like "being at home". So much attention to detail. The breakfasts were incredible and couldn't believe our evening snacks. If we were out, they would leave our snack in our room with ice water carafe (we were there during the heat wave) and the big storm that put everyone out of electricity but we were fortunate and never lost electricity! Scott took us on the wine tour and that was very interesting. We learned a lot about the wineries in the area. Dixie's lunch was amazing and we enjoyed the beautiful scenery as we dined on gourmet delicacies. It was nice to enjoy a glass of wine with Dixie and Scott on their back patio and get to know each other better. They were both so hospitable and such great innkeepers - we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vsmeranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Thistle Ridge is located on a quiet country road in Bridgewater. The location and scenery were very peaceful.

Upon arriving, Scott and Dixie (innkeepers) welcomed us in and made us feel very comfortable. They showed us to our room (Blue cottage) & informed us to check back in the main house at 8pm each night for yummy snacks and a pitcher of nice cold ice water (it was hot out!). Dixie made a homemade cake the first day and cookies the next (yum!). For our convenience (in the main house), there was a stocked mini fridge with drinks, a basket with treats, and a hot pot to make hot tea, if we wanted to.

Our room was very clean and comfortable. We had a king-sized bed with a very comfy (not too hard nor soft) mattress. The linens were soft & the bedding accented the room well. There were nice little touches everywhere we looked - including the little fireplace in our room.

The bathroom offered a decent-sized two-person tub. That room, too, was nicely decorated.

At night, my husband and I would sit in the main house, enjoy a glass of wine, and play cards. Very homey and comfy.

We did not have cable, though we drove a few miles downtown and grabbed movies from Redbox.

The B & B does have internet.

Recommendation for a good place to eat dinner...Francesco's on the main street in Bridgewater. Very good!

Dixie made a wonderful breakfast both mornings we were there. No one leaves hungry!

If you are looking for a nice, quiet, relaxing, country getaway run by very nice people, this place comes highly recommended. Enjoy!

Room Tip: They have three rooms available. We stayed in the Blue Room which was wonderful. We spoke with the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2bamom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgewater
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#4 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#3 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
11.2 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
7.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Ridge Bed & Breakfast & Winery Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Ridge Bed & Breakfast & Winery Tours

Address: 11 Pops Lane, Bridgewater, VA 22812
Location: United States > Virginia > Bridgewater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgewater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic getaway in the Shenandoah Valley. Quiet, peaceful property near nature, colleges, golf, skiing, and wineries. Chauffeured winery tours available and Virginia wine on premises. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing