We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They had the steak this time...call it a 2 and 1/2”
Review of Lone Oak Tavern

Lone Oak Tavern
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Boyce
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“They had the steak this time...call it a 2 and 1/2”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Of the three steaks one looked pretty good - two were pretty small and thin. Canned green beans - potatoes and salad were good - service was good and beer cold. Ate inside - juke box is loud but we were in the bar so forgivable. Was hoping the steak would be knock down good.... Will prob go back if in the area and hungry, but wouldn't drive out of my way. Hear the karaoke is good tho.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasmandevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We had a group of 16”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We arrived unannounced and they stepped up and accomodated us very well. They set up tables and surprisingly handled our drink and dinner orders with ease. Not a huge menu but adaquate. They were out of a couple of things but no big deal. The food was hot (or cold) as it should have been and it was quite good. 2 bar drinks, a grilled chicken/bacon sandwich and a salad. $18. Not bad. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank icthec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Okay, but will try again”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Went here after recommendation from a friend and reading reviews. This is definitely a good old neighborhood restaurant where the locals come to hang out. Great bar area with loud music and you can still smoke. I had the Reuben sandwich and my husband had the Club sandwich. It must have been an off night. The pastrami on my Reuben was overcooked and tough, not enough dressing and very little sauerkraut. My husband said his club was good. We heard the hamburgers and beef dishes were really good and the meat is from local farmers. So, we'll give it another try. Nice area outside for sitting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linden96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hamburgers on the patio”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had the hamburger twice in one week. Bar inside is a little smoky but the patio was great. Friendly service, the place was hopping on Friday night with locals and biker groups.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarterKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Eh.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We ordered steak. They were out. Kinda ruined the night. We'll try it again. Server was nice and beer was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tasmandevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Oak Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Lone Oak Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing