We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear's Den Hostel

Bear's Den Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bluemont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear's Den Hostel
Save
You added Bear's Den Hostel to your Saves list
asheville
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Patrice and Justin provide a pleasant retreat for this section hiker. The den is exceptionally clean and well organized. The Den has everything a hiker needs, including utensils for meals, sitting areas with piano and a rocker, and a huge dining room. A shower and bargain pizza plus ice cream address basic needs. Our visit was delightful.




  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turtles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at the Bear's Den Cabin/Cottage that is maintained by the family at Bear's Den Hostel. There were two space heaters, a wood burning fireplace, and a wood burning stove that were on for entire weekend. The first night was almost unbearably cold. After calling the hostel they gave us the option of spending more time in the hostel where it was warmer. I think the wife must've received more information about the cabin because she called us back later to let us know that there was an electronic blower for the fireplace that we plug in and turn on. This helped to keep the place a couple of degrees warmer. It would've been really helpful if some of these aspects of the cabin had been detailed for us, in writing, when we arrived (common practice among PATC cabins). The amenties the cabin listed i.e. two burner hotplate and refrigerator didn't work. Everything that needed refrigeration was put in the freezer (although it was so cold we could've just left it on the floor of the cottage), and one of the burners only heated up slightly where the other one shut off when it reached maximum heat. The running water outside was shut off, understandably, so the pipes wouldn't freeze. The lack of water made the woman's request that we mop before leaving, even more inappropriate, since the place was very dirty when we arrived. There was mouse poop over the utensils and dishware, the counters were dirty, and the floor had to be reswept.

We had to request that wood be delivered and then when the truckload arrived they wanted our help unloading. Their preparation for our arrival seemed very poor. It was annoying that they would only drop off wood at the bottom of the hill when the woodpile was supposed to be out the back door. We made a few precarious trips quite late and in the early morning, to restock our indoor supply - we went through a lot of wood as we tried to keep the temperature of the cabin bearable for our stay.

The cabin itself was pretty, but I'd recommend visiting in warmer weather and keep your expectations low with regards to things working and having everything you need to cook with (unlike other cabins managed by PATC). Loads of vineyards in the area make for a great day trips.

This was our 5th trip since Jan 2011 to stay with a cabin managed by PATC and this was the only one we have been disappointed with.

Lastly, this place isn't well marked. When you get to the parking area there isn't a sign pointing you in the direction of the cabin. Also, if you opt to go on the Spout Run hike there is no way to identify when you've actually gotten there. I still don't know if Spout Run was the first stream we encountered, the 2nd, or the 3rd.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ready4nextvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

Great place, nice location, great stop for lunch or a snack on a hike. Provides good rates for thru-hikers, a rentable house for a family, good cooking, friendly atmosphere.

  • Liked — Lounge area, proximity to Appalachian Trail, secluded from real word
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hellafide7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2003

Bears Den is a really beautiful place. A huge stone cabin in the middle
of the woods. It's next to the Appalachian trail. I stayed in the group
bunk bed room for $15, but I think there is a private room.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluemont
18.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
16.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#3 of 7 in Leesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
17.4 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
9.8 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 8 in Middleburg
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
11.0 mi away
Zion Springs Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear's Den Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear's Den Hostel

Property: Bear's Den Hostel
Address: 18393 Blueridge Mountain Rd, Bluemont, VA 20135-1817
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Bluemont
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bluemont
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing