We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice day out but only one bathroom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twin Oaks Tavern Winery

Twin Oaks Tavern Winery
18035 Raven Rocks Rd, Bluemont, VA 20135
540 554-4547
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 7 things to do in Bluemont
Attraction details
Hughesville, MD
Level Contributor
345 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Nice day out but only one bathroom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Six of us went to the winery after River Tubing at Watermelon Park. We paid $5 each to taste six wines. If you wanted to take your glass home, it was an additional $5. The Chardonnay, Cabernet and Blend were very good. The Raspberry to tart for my liking and the Peach to mild in flavor. The Norton was did not live up to it's description. So, three out of six, not bad. We sat outside and enjoyed our wine with the picnic we brought. They do have small snack items for purchase: cheese, crackers, sausage. They had a young woman playing her guitar and singing inside. They opened the windows so we could hear her sing from where we were seated outside. The rest of our group, ten additional people arrived about an hour after us. There was plenty of seating to fit everyone outside or inside. The view is amazing. One negative is that they only have one bathroom, shared by man or woman, total ONE bathroom. If they could expand and add another it would get a 5 star rating.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fishtherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great view good wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have visited several winery/vineyards in the area and this one has one of the best views of the Shenandoah Valley. Enjoy the view, the birds and other wildlife while sampling the wines. Or bring a picnic lunch and sit out on the deck with one of their fine wines and just relax. There is a small fee if you just want to do wine tasting. But no fee if you are buying a bottle. Light food is available for purchase.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“LOVE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Such an awesome atmosphere. It is very tavern-like inside the winery and the service and people are the same way - laid back, relaxed, comfortable, and friendly. The wine is quite tasty as well. They also have a cute deck to just sit and look at the beautiful view while sipping on a glass of wine. Definitely a charming place that I will totally go to again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tg1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
255 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Love the atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Visited this winery for the very first time two weeks ago. They have a great vibe here, truly a tavern setting. And what a view!!! Even on the cloudy, chilly day we were there, the view was still beautiful. I'm looking forward to going back on a clear, sunny day and seeing that view again. They offer indoor seating and outdoor patios, and are planning an outdoor patio expansion later this year. The grounds are limited, but beautiful. Parking could be a problem on busy days, especially as their popularity grows. Spent several hours on our first visit and will go back again and again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic View to Sit and Sip Some Wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a small winery in a wonderful cozy building next to an old tavern property. Wine tasting was fair but that is always an individual taste so decide on which you like on your own. From the windows or outside seating area you can see approximately 50 miles west across the north end of the Shenandoah Valley. The folks are very friendly. Cheese, bread, and salami is available for purchase but they are nice enough to allow you to bring your own and enjoy it with a glass or bottle of their wine. They also have live music on most Saturday’s. Check them out at www.twinoakstavernwinery.com

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twin Oaks Tavern Winery also viewed

Bluemont, Loudoun County
Bluemont, Loudoun County
 
Bluemont, Loudoun County
Bluemont, Loudoun County
 

Been to Twin Oaks Tavern Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing