We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere”
Review of Macado's

Macado's
Ranked #9 of 127 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Luling, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I had a late lunch at Macado's in October 2013. The food and atmosphere were good. The service was prompt and courteous. The experience was a good one...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricky216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    96
    37
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Blacksburg Tradition”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Been coming for almost 30 years and it is always my 1st stop every time I come back to town. Great atmosphere (especially on Friday evenings of football game weekends), a menu of sandwiches so extensive, I still don't think I've made it all the way through the list yet (try the Brooklyn Bridge - beyond delicious...and if you can finish it in one sitting, you're more stomach than I am). The potato skins are always a must (best I've ever had) and there's a good selection of draft beers (it's never a bad thing when you need 2 hands to lift your huge goblet). I left Blacksburg in 1991 but when I make my annual treks north for ball games, it still always feels like home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilot, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Longtime Favorite!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Consistently good, longtime local favorite! The menu is lengthy, choices are numerous. Have never had a bad meal or unpleasant experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BorntoXplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Macado's Rocks!!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

It its not fancy, but, yes, this is one of the best meals because this place knows how to deliver good food, quickly and has great customer service. Even if there is a crowd waiting, it never takes too long to be seated. The servers will do all they can to accommodate special requests. There is such a variety on the menu, it is a great place to come with a diverse group. Don't expect find dining, but enjoy it for what it is.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeccoQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, VA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure, So many choices!!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Macado's experience is always a pleasure if you like variety and great food at great value. Hit the spot after a VT game which is always a great end to the day. The family and I had a great starter dip and the entree choices are endless. I would dare say there are over 50 sandwich choices and every on that comes out looks fabulous. One of us had the Brooklyn Bridge which looked amazing. The salads are great as well.

Great place for families and kids. Very relaxed and !!fun spot

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bpaliotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Macado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing