We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Blacksburg Tradition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macado's

Macado's
Ranked #11 of 123 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Blacksburg Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Been coming for almost 30 years and it is always my 1st stop every time I come back to town. Great atmosphere (especially on Friday evenings of football game weekends), a menu of sandwiches so extensive, I still don't think I've made it all the way through the list yet (try the Brooklyn Bridge - beyond delicious...and if you can finish it in one sitting, you're more stomach than I am). The potato skins are always a must (best I've ever had) and there's a good selection of draft beers (it's never a bad thing when you need 2 hands to lift your huge goblet). I left Blacksburg in 1991 but when I make my annual treks north for ball games, it still always feels like home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    77
    34
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pilot, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Longtime Favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Consistently good, longtime local favorite! The menu is lengthy, choices are numerous. Have never had a bad meal or unpleasant experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BorntoXplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Macado's Rocks!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

It its not fancy, but, yes, this is one of the best meals because this place knows how to deliver good food, quickly and has great customer service. Even if there is a crowd waiting, it never takes too long to be seated. The servers will do all they can to accommodate special requests. There is such a variety on the menu, it is a great place to come with a diverse group. Don't expect find dining, but enjoy it for what it is.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NeccoQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, VA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure, So many choices!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Macado's experience is always a pleasure if you like variety and great food at great value. Hit the spot after a VT game which is always a great end to the day. The family and I had a great starter dip and the entree choices are endless. I would dare say there are over 50 sandwich choices and every on that comes out looks fabulous. One of us had the Brooklyn Bridge which looked amazing. The salads are great as well.

Great place for families and kids. Very relaxed and !!fun spot

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bpaliotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good spot for wings and low-key meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice restaurant with a great Monday deal for what are pretty good wings. Pleasant atmosphere and good service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlennS_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macado's also viewed

 

Been to Macado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing