We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
Nearby Hotels
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$116
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Main Street Inn(Blacksburg)
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Carpet Inn(Blacksburg)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Blacksburg(Blacksburg)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveler rating
125
66
25
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
66
25
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast attendantfront deskva techroom was cleanindoor poolthe breakfast arealate checkthe sofa bedsink areagas stationbit datedwould definitely stay here againnice staystayed here for one nighti highly recommend this hoteloatmealopen house
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 228 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I stay here for every VT home football game. The hotel was recently remodeled and its beautiful. The beds are very comfortable. The rooms are very quiet. Nice kitchen area and suite. The breakfast is varied and free. There are cookies upon arrival. The staff is always friendly and helpful and remember us by name. The prices are higher for football weekends but they are higher at every hotel from Christiansburg to Blacksburg. For the convenience, it is well worth it!

Room Tip: The suites next to the elevators have a full kitchen. Surprisingly, you really don't hear the elevators. The rooms must be very well insulated.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experiences at the Comfort Suites. Your loyal business really means so much to us. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I just stayed here for one night after attending a Hokie football game but wish it had been longer, the room was spacious and very clean. You have a bedroom and sitting room area and the room also comes with sink, microwave coffee maker and fridge. One nice feature - card on the bed explains which pillows are firm and which are soft so you can arrange them according to your preference (and the bed was very comfortable). The breakfast (available in the lobby) was yummy and we were particularly impressed with Juan (introduced himself and was incredibly nice, friendly and helpful and kept everything well stocked - no easy task since it was packed!) front desk staff was also nice and pleasant (oh and almost forgot they had popcorn available in the lobby when we arrived in the evening after the football game - nice touch).its also close to the Tech campus and right off 460 so very convenient location too. I highly recommend it and plan on staying there again the next time I am in Blacksburg to see my son.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We value and appreciate your feedback -- especially the recommendation! We're very glad you chose the Comfort Suites for your one night in Blacksburg and hope you'll be back for many more days and nights in the future. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is one of my favorite places to stay in Blacksburg. Over the course of many years, the hotel ownership has changed a few times (Amerisuites, Hawthorn, Comfort Suites), but the service and friendliness of the staff have always been the best. The hotel is in a great location just off campus, and the rooms have recently been renovated. There is plenty of room in each suite, and the lobby area is a great gathering place. There is no restaurant, but the I would grade the complimentary continental plus breakfast as pretty good. The only thing missing is an Evening Managers Special :-)

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but I tend to stay away from the elevators and the ice machine.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We arrived late in the evening just to spend the night and we were pleasantly surprised. Our room (315/ king size bed) was spacious, comfy and very clean.
The staff (front desk and breakfast area) were very attentive and welcoming.
Good value for money.
I highly recommend it.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your recommendation and your feedback (and pictures!). We're glad you chose the Comfort Suites and hope you'll be back for another stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We have traveled fairly extensively. This hotel had better Customer Service than far pricier establishments. From Front Desk to Breakfast Attendant (Juan, was EXCEPTIONAL. Introduced himself, cleared our dishes, kept everything full, was so friendly and helpful!!). Things were clean and in good repair. Warm cookies at check in, even though they were booked FULL on a Va Tech Football weekend, the warm cookies did NOT run out :-). Just SUPERIOR service!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank OnthegoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thanks for sharing this experience with us! It's great get your feedback and to hear such kind words about our staff. We hope you'll be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews