We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very nice clean hotel -- solid choice in Blacksburg!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Blacksburg
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very nice clean hotel -- solid choice in Blacksburg!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2009

Stayed in Courtyard by Marriott for one night during campus tour of VA Tech. Hotel's location is very close to the campus, restaurants and major highway. Loved the clean rooms, very friendly staff and nice breakfast. Even though VA Tech sight suggested that we stay at the Inn, upon looking at the pictures, my daughter and I decided that we wanted something different. Marriott had great reviews and it certainly lived up to our expectations. The front desk staff (Andrew, I believe) was very friendly and helpful, giving us maps, restaurant suggestions and answering all of our questions. We forgot to bring toothpaste and went in search of the little hotel shop to buy one, Andrew was quick to point out that hotel provides basic toiletries free for guests. Very nice feature, and not often found in today's economy. The room itself was spacious, bed was clean and comfortable and had small fridge, microwave and coffee machine. Our rate did not include breakfast, and we wanted to eat something quick and close to campus so that we will not miss our orientation, however, upon checking the breakfast bar, we decided that it was totally worth the cost. The food was good and plentiful and service was prompt and pleasant. Overall, I would not hesitate to stay at the Courtyard in the future, and if my child ends up going to VA Tech, I will certainly become a frequent hotel guest there.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Sales Manager at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, December 9, 2009
VaTravel,

Thank you for your thoughtful post about our property! Best of luck to your daughter as she chooses a school! If VT is it, we hope to have you and your family as regulars!

Safe Travels,

Courtyard by Marriott Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    44
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
67
22
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

Stayed here for two nights at the end of Oct/first of Nov. for a family function. I grew up in Blacksburg, visit regularly and know most of the properties and have seen a number of hotels/chains come and go. Most of the options in the Blacksburg city limits are older and thus the properties are simply refurbished every few years.

The Courtyard is an actual new property, just inside the town limits on the east side by the airport. The rooms are very spacious, clean and the bedding is quite comfortable. Room-wise it's easily the best option I've found in town. Breakfast is not included and the rate is higher than other hotels, so if you are strictly after price then this isn't the one for you. However, the difference in price is easily justified by seeing the rooms. Very big, nice and comfortable, particularly for a family of four like us. Staff was great and well-trained.

About the only drawback is the location in that you really aren't near campus. It's only a five-minute drive and closer than staying over by the mall where there are several other newer hotels, but that may put some people off. Otherwise, I doubt there's a better option in the Blacksburg/Christiansburg area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoVirginia_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Sales Manager at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
Dear NoVirginia_Traveler,

It is wonderful to hear that you had a nice stay with your family! It is important to us for our property to feel like a home away from home. We hope to see you during your next visit to Blacksburg!

The Courtyard Marriott Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, AZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

I found the front desk staff unhelpful and especially bad with regards to directions to the hotel. They were worse than asking advice at a local Denny's. However, the property itself looks to be only a few years old, it's still clean and nice. The internet connection was fine and other than the poor front desk help I'd recommend the place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Sales Manager at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 20, 2009
Dear davejensen,

We value our guest's comments; thank you for your post. I apologize that you had difficulty with directions provided from our Guest Services Team. We will continue to train our staff so that this will be avoided in the future. Most of our guests feels we are conveniently located off 460 Bypass at the South End part of Main Street. We are within walking distance of the Corporate Research Center and less then a mile from several Blacksburg business parks. In addition, our location offers three favorable ways to drive to the heart of Virginia Tech Campus.

Safe Travels,

The Courtyard Marriott Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield, va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a football weekend and were very impressed with how new/nice the hotel was. Very nice and different layout in the room we were in and the hotel was very quiet (no parties at all hours). We were very pleased because we have stayed in some lower end hotels in Blacksburg just to have a place to stay for the games ... this was a welcome change. Very clean and the service staff were all friendly! Would stay here again hands down! Only complaint is that it was expensive, but at least we were in a nice hotel this time paying the high dollars that it takes to watch football!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jewagne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Sales Manager at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 16, 2009
Dear jewagne5,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit at our property and hope to see you the next time you visit Blacksburg!

Go Hokies!

The Courtyard Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

I am a HUGE fan of Marriotts. I had been staying with Choice Hotels for years, but their quality consistency was getting to be soooo BAD. You just never knew if it was going to be a good one or not when you booked it (other than TripAdvisor reviews, of course!). But Marriotts have EXCELLENT quality control across the board!!
This particular hotel is fairly new. I've stayed in some others before in Blacksburg, but now that this Courtyard is here....this is my destination when I need a hotel in this area. The rooms are very nice, spacious, extremely clean, smell good....what else can I say. I am so very pleased with this hotel. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. This hotel is tops!!!! A little pricey, but worth it to make sure you are not sleeping in grunge, bugs, or murder central. :-)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisaj1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Sales Manager at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 12, 2009
Dear Lisaj1962,

It is great to hear that you are enjoying the Marriott Brand and had a nice experience at our property! We appreciate you and hope to see you and your family on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Safe Travels,

Courtyard Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Friendly staff, great breakfast and the lady in charge was very friendly and helpfull. Bedroom was nice and clean and perfect location close to VT.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ViennaVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Sales Manager at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 12, 2009
Dear ViennaVirginia,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to Blacksburg. We appreciate your kind words and hope to have the opportunity to have your family back as repeat guests!

Safe Travels,

Courtyard Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

TWO QUEENS! Which is the Courtyard norm, but still awesome. Great new hotel. It had a very nice room/bathroom. Didn't try the breakfast. Location a little off, but we had a car so I guess it was fine!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelsnob96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 8 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Blacksburg

Property: Courtyard Blacksburg
Address: 105 Southpark Dr, Blacksburg, VA 24060-6664
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Blacksburg Marriott
Blacksburg Courtyard
Courtyard Blacksburg Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing