We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Blacksburg
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

This was a stop during our drive from DC to North Carolina. The hotel was a bit off the highway for our purpose, but was worth the short detour. We arrived late and they greeted us by name (it was because we had a toddler and were the only ones requesting a crib, but it was nice anyway). Once we got to our room, we realized the hotel was not very full and they had grouped all of the guests in one area. We requested a new room so that our 2 year old (who was jumping and screaming in excitement) wouldn't disturb the other guests. They just moved us to the other end of the hall and all slept a little better.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    42
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
64
21
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

Stayed here two nights during VT orientation. Pluses: it's a new hotel, staff were very friendly, good size clean room and a good location for VT visit ( 5 min drive). The room temp was great and easy to adjust with thermostat. Also, the shower was great - oversized space, water was powerful and consistantly hot. I liked the separate (not attached to the wall) hair dryer. The Negatives: the location is not within walking distance of any stores or restaurants, the breakfast is the same that you would get for free at other hotels. Also, the set up of the room worked badly for me because the mini frig was located by the head of the bed and it had a terrible buzzing noise going all night. As mentioned by another reviewer the hotel seemed just a bit noisy for me, including some road noise.
I haven't yet stayed at any other Blacksburg/Christiansburg hotels so I can't compare but I get a sense that this hotel is one of the nicer chains in the area.
Overall the experience was good and I'd stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank trav16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

It is nice and new looking - but the noise was horrible. You heard everything from all of the rooms around you. I stay in a few hotels a month (so I expect some noise), and this was the loudest hotel that I have stayed in in a long time. It was like they were in the room with you, and these were not loud neighbors, just normal noise. I would not stay here again.

  • Liked — new
  • Disliked — heard everything- no soundproofing what so ever!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alexandriava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
189 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

Previous Trip Advisor reviews were very positive and that was why we booked this Courtyard. The staff was very welcoming and helpful, the rooms were immaculately clean, quiet, nicely furnished and spacious. It is a relatively new hotel in a great location. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel lobby - I thought it expensive ($8.95) for a hotel lobby breakfast, especially when we usually only eat cereal with tea, coffee. Went to local restuarant and ate healthy. Friends did the bacon and eggs at hotel and stated it was adequate. Paid "Senior" rate from website and paid similar amount to the very poorly rated (on Trip Advisor) Holiday Inn in Blacksburg where I had booked originally - but after reading the HI reviews looked for another hotel. This was a good choice and I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Liked — cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — charging for hotel lobby breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

This is a new hotel and a very nice addition to the Blacksburg area. Everything was fresh and new, the front desk staff -- mostly composed of VT students -- were very nice and helpful. The rest of the staff was nice as well. The indoor pool was a nice addition, though of course is small and shallow.

It's in a generally good location for Blacksburg. There's not much, if anything, that you can walk to, but it's a very short and easy drive to downtown and/or campus.

We stayed four nights and got a AAA rate and it was a very good rate for the quality of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LAXflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

Date : April 15, 2008. We just returned from a two night stay at the Courtyard Blacksburg while we visited Virginia Tech. This new property is impeccably clean, and the staff couldn't be more friendly. They have a very nice pool and jacuzzi (very underutilized when we were there) as well as a fitness room. Our room was ready when we arrived - slightly before check in time,, and we were very impressed with the appearance. We had two queen beds, with large operating window, plenty of window covering options/layers (including room darkening)
individual thermostatic controlled heat and air, refrigerator, microwave, abundant coffee service, iron, ironing board, hair dryer ( a real hair dryer - not one mounted on the wall). The shower is very nice, and extra towels were provided. Although breakfast is not included, it is a good value, with plenty of choices.

The small convenience center is fairly well stocked, One night we decided to stay in and eat salads, although there were other choices, including some frozen entrees that you could heat in the room microwave. They also served some scrumptious cookies last night (complimentary) - not sure whether this is a normal occurence or whether we just got lucky.

This was our first visit to Blacksburg, (but apparently, we will be returning for the next four years!!) so we can't compare this hotel to any others, but this will be my first choice for all future visits. My ideal would be to stay in a hotel that is walking distance to most areas on campus, but after my visit, I am not sure there are any (including the Inn) that acutally would fit this bill. The Inn and the holiday Inn are definitely closer to the main part of campus, but I think you would still want a car for most downtown destinations in the evening. Given that, the location of this Courtyard is just fine - and only about a five minute drive to the center of town.

  • Liked — cleanliness, comfort, friendly staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank creekdweller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

Courtyards can be counted on to be pretty nice on average. This hotel which opened in October 07 is probably the nicest Courtyard I’ve encountered. Friendly staff, the rooms very deep and large and have microwave and refrigerator. Beds were super, luxurious bath room. Like all CY’s there is a charge for breakfast. I usually only get cereal and fruit ala cart but everything else looked fine.
As noted in other reviews not any restaurants within walking distance so I’d only stay here if I had a car. If you’re without one stay at the Hampton Inn over at the Blacksburg/Christiansburg line, several restaurants are near that.

  • Liked — Great Rooms
  • Disliked — Quite a ways to restaurants
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 30-StateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 8 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
2.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
2.9 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Blacksburg

Property: Courtyard Blacksburg
Address: 105 Southpark Dr, Blacksburg, VA 24060-6664
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Blacksburg Courtyard
Blacksburg Marriott
Courtyard Blacksburg Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing