We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“New and Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Blacksburg
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
189 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“New and Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

Previous Trip Advisor reviews were very positive and that was why we booked this Courtyard. The staff was very welcoming and helpful, the rooms were immaculately clean, quiet, nicely furnished and spacious. It is a relatively new hotel in a great location. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel lobby - I thought it expensive ($8.95) for a hotel lobby breakfast, especially when we usually only eat cereal with tea, coffee. Went to local restuarant and ate healthy. Friends did the bacon and eggs at hotel and stated it was adequate. Paid "Senior" rate from website and paid similar amount to the very poorly rated (on Trip Advisor) Holiday Inn in Blacksburg where I had booked originally - but after reading the HI reviews looked for another hotel. This was a good choice and I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Liked — cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — charging for hotel lobby breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    43
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
21
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2008

This is a new hotel and a very nice addition to the Blacksburg area. Everything was fresh and new, the front desk staff -- mostly composed of VT students -- were very nice and helpful. The rest of the staff was nice as well. The indoor pool was a nice addition, though of course is small and shallow.

It's in a generally good location for Blacksburg. There's not much, if anything, that you can walk to, but it's a very short and easy drive to downtown and/or campus.

We stayed four nights and got a AAA rate and it was a very good rate for the quality of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LAXflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2008

Date : April 15, 2008. We just returned from a two night stay at the Courtyard Blacksburg while we visited Virginia Tech. This new property is impeccably clean, and the staff couldn't be more friendly. They have a very nice pool and jacuzzi (very underutilized when we were there) as well as a fitness room. Our room was ready when we arrived - slightly before check in time,, and we were very impressed with the appearance. We had two queen beds, with large operating window, plenty of window covering options/layers (including room darkening)
individual thermostatic controlled heat and air, refrigerator, microwave, abundant coffee service, iron, ironing board, hair dryer ( a real hair dryer - not one mounted on the wall). The shower is very nice, and extra towels were provided. Although breakfast is not included, it is a good value, with plenty of choices.

The small convenience center is fairly well stocked, One night we decided to stay in and eat salads, although there were other choices, including some frozen entrees that you could heat in the room microwave. They also served some scrumptious cookies last night (complimentary) - not sure whether this is a normal occurence or whether we just got lucky.

This was our first visit to Blacksburg, (but apparently, we will be returning for the next four years!!) so we can't compare this hotel to any others, but this will be my first choice for all future visits. My ideal would be to stay in a hotel that is walking distance to most areas on campus, but after my visit, I am not sure there are any (including the Inn) that acutally would fit this bill. The Inn and the holiday Inn are definitely closer to the main part of campus, but I think you would still want a car for most downtown destinations in the evening. Given that, the location of this Courtyard is just fine - and only about a five minute drive to the center of town.

  • Liked — cleanliness, comfort, friendly staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank creekdweller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2008

Courtyards can be counted on to be pretty nice on average. This hotel which opened in October 07 is probably the nicest Courtyard I’ve encountered. Friendly staff, the rooms very deep and large and have microwave and refrigerator. Beds were super, luxurious bath room. Like all CY’s there is a charge for breakfast. I usually only get cereal and fruit ala cart but everything else looked fine.
As noted in other reviews not any restaurants within walking distance so I’d only stay here if I had a car. If you’re without one stay at the Hampton Inn over at the Blacksburg/Christiansburg line, several restaurants are near that.

  • Liked — Great Rooms
  • Disliked — Quite a ways to restaurants
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 30-StateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2007

Great hotel, very clean. I'm not familiar with the area but it seems like a good location. Nothing within walking distance of the hotel though.

  • Liked — Clean, big rooms, decor is a cut above the norm, restaurant good (but not free)
  • Disliked — Nothing in walking distance, like a store or fast food place, bar isn't open yet, too new
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ringocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2007

Our daughter attends the VA-MD Vet School. We have been there four times in the last year between touring and moving her in. You can never seem to get a room at the Inn at VA Tech. Once we stayed at the Ramada (most of the hotels are in Christen burg only a few minutes away- it was AWFUL. The other times we stayed at the Comfort Inn just past the Ramada ok, but only because it was clean). This hotel just opened and it is very nice. Totally nonsmoking. Indoor pool and jacuzzi. Very nice breakfast (so much better than Comfort Inn, they had an omlet station and a waitress) and the bedrooms were very clean and modern. Nice duvet covers and a small sofa bed. Nice flat screen TV and a good deal of room for more than two people. If you are going to visit at VA Tech and you can't get into the Inn this is the place to stay. And if you want to do a special dinner in a small town try the Summit restaurant - very nice. We really enjoyed it.
One other note, this hotel has a small fridge and microwave. In the lobby they have a small store with essentials such as popcorn and small meals. Very helpful if you have children or are too tired to go out.
the bedrooms are very new with nice duvet covers, down comforters and a good bed
GREAT PLACE

  • Liked — Great if you are going to VA Tech
  • Disliked — Small pillows
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldcbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 8 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Blacksburg

Property: Courtyard Blacksburg
Address: 105 Southpark Dr, Blacksburg, VA 24060-6664
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Blacksburg Courtyard
Blacksburg Marriott
Courtyard Blacksburg Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing