We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“perfumey sheets” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Blacksburg
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“perfumey sheets”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times and always enjoy our stay. However, this time my wife was in misery because of the smell of the sheets on the bed. Apparently the fabric softener or detergent has been changed and the new product is fairly fragrant. She had a migrane for the rest of the day. We were really disappointed since Marriott has always been fairly concerned with allergen causing products. We spoke to someone working at the front desk, but got no assurance this change would be reversed, so we may not be able to stay at this hotel again which is very disappointing for us. For most people this is probably not an issue- it smells like Tide, but for us its a deal breaker because of her senstivity. The hotel was already on the expensive side, so we'll probably look elsewhere (the Fairfield in town uses some sort of Carpet power too, just fyi..)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmr2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear kmr2r,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your stay!

We have had our cleaning chemical supplier at property to verify amounts of detergent, bleach and softener are being dispensed properly. We hope you will visit with us again!

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    41
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
21
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed while visiting VT. I'm a Courtyard fan but have to say my family and I were put off by the constant slamming of doors and the paper thin walls. Plenty of traffic noise as well. Restaurant not open on a Sunday evening?

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Matthew F,

Thank you for sharing your constructive comments! The door closure tension is according to Marriott Brand standard to maintain the safety and security of our guests.

We appreciate your feedback and will share with Marriott and our ownership.

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were on a trip to visit my son at VT and found this gem. A wonderful facility with even bettter staff! This property has either been recently updated or is brand new. You wouldn't be able to tell the difference. We were welcomed with big smiles upon our arrival. Off site restaurants are a short drive away. Great value.

Room Tip: Roooms are large and relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Satch07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Satch07,

Thank you for posting about our property! It is great to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We are looking forward to your next visit to see your son!

Go Hokies,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at the Courtyard Blacksburg when visiting a friend who goes to Tech. We got a king size room with a whirlpool jacuzzi tub and had a girl's night at the hotel. Everything looked brand new and the staff was super nice. They had a big TV in the room, and everything was clean and well decorated. The price was great for the value received - it was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and definitely the best of the Courtyards that I have been in so far.

I had no issues whatsoever and would recommend it to anyone staying in Blacksburg! It is much more convenient than staying over in Christiansburg and nicer than any other hotel in town.

Room Tip: Go for the whirlpool if you are looking for a romantic evening or a night of relaxation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spatlovesbama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear spatlovesbama,

Great to hear that you had a nice visit with us and was able to enjoy some rest and relaxation! We are honored by your comment about being one of the best hotels you have stayed at/the best Courtyard you have been in!

We hope to see you next time you are in town visiting your friend at Tech.

Safe Travels,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at this location while attending a sporting event. The front desk staff was warm and friendly and provided us with a list of great places to eat. The hotel was clean and well maintained. We will stay here again when we come back to the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mich196840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear mich196840,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review of our property!

Safe Travels,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlemont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stay at many Courtyards on our trips. This facility was as clean and attractive as they get. Front desk service was excellent -- drew a map with dining choices. The room looked new even though the hotel was several years old. The breakfast buffet is extensive. We only chose English muffins and were only charged for what we ate despite the listed charges. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ijg1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear ijg1018,

Thank you for your review!

Our property opened in October 2007; we appreciate you noticing that the property still has that "new" feel. We have an outstanding staff that keeps the building in shape! Glad to hear that the Front Desk staff was helpful in providing local dining information.

We hope to see you during your next trip to Blacksburg!

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
184 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed here while visiting the Virginia Tech campus and I loved it!!! It was very clean, safe, and in a great location!!! The rooms were spacious and comfortable! If I am ever in the VT area, I will definatley stay here again!!!!! :)

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Summerbrieze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Mazzhead1139,

Thank you for visiting with us and your review!

Of course we are bias but we agree that our property is the best in Blacksburg - from cleanliness to our hospitable staff!

Safe Travels,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 8 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
2.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Blacksburg

Property: Courtyard Blacksburg
Address: 105 Southpark Dr, Blacksburg, VA 24060-6664
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Blacksburg Courtyard
Blacksburg Marriott
Courtyard Blacksburg Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing