We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freezing Room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Blacksburg
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
182 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Freezing Room!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night on our way back from North Carolina. Everything was great. We did have some AC issues. When we walked into the room, it was freezing. We never could regulate the AC. It was either really cold or warm. Nice otherwise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddiepeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Eddiepeddie,

Thank you for visiting with us and for your post! We hope you had a nice trip to NC.

I hope our team members were able to offer you assistance with the thermostat. Safe travels and we hope to see you on your next adventure toward the south!

Lauren/The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    46
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
70
26
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Lovely room clean, comfortable room, with fabulous amenities (especially love their soap and shampoo), but in the end it is all about how good a night's sleep you get. The mattress was hard, lots of tossing and turning. At 6:00 am the alarm went off in the room above. It kept going off...about 5 times in all and I know the person kept turning it off, but I was wide awake after the second time! Very surprised that a room this nice has old hard mattresses and poor sound insulation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblinRoseNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear RamblinRoseNC,

We appreciate the feedback about your stay!

Glad to hear that you like the soap and shampoo; Courtyard recently changed our products to Paul Mitchell. We hear mixed reviews about our beds. We are in the planning process to upgrade all our rooms with memory foam mattress toppers. We are looking forward to your next visit!

With Hospitality,

Lauren/The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwell
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Management was great . Made us feel like we were at home. Could not be happier with a hotel for value, service and everything else.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear michael a,

Thank you for visiting with us and your post about your experience!

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott for two nights, April 20-22, 2012 and had a wonderful experience. I was very impressed with the helpful and caring qualities of Liz (Front Desk), and Michelle (Waitress). The inimitable qualities of Tom Norman, the Manager who I spoke with on the phone, is most impressive. Their ideal qualities make them model team members, and are a positive asset to the hotel. Even though I live only an hour away from Blacksburg, I will be finding a reason to stay at this property again in the very near future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Yvonne C,

Thank you for visiting with us during the Spring Game/VT Spring Family Weekend and for your post! We have a great property but our most important asset is our team. I will make sure to share your comments with Liz, Michelle and Tom. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Lauren/The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is the only Marriott location that wouldn't give an Elite member a late check-out. Management said it was because I was part of a group! I know not to stay with the group next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amartlay_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear amartlay_2,

We are disappointed you feel you were told “you couldn’t get a late check-out”. Your post was dated prior to your check-out even occurring (written while still at property). A Marriott Platinum Elite Member organized your club's visit to our hotel. The size of your group takes up approximately 1/3 of our property. The hotel cannot operate granting 1/3 of its rooms an extensive late check out, so it was agreed in your group’s contract a predetermined number of rooms would receive a 4PM departure. Our desk clerk simply asked you at check-in when you were requesting late check-out, contact the group coordinator to see about being facilitated with the late check-outs. In addition, our staff also reported your request to the group coordinator. I received feedback that you were added to the list of late departures but did not utilitze it. We hope your young athlete performed well at the event.

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This is a nice Courtyard. People are nice. My only beef is with Courtyards in general as they really don't give so much to Platinum Marriott members. I do think it's one of the nice hotels in Blacksburg, if not the nicest.

Room Tip: Ask for a whirlpool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucedavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear brucedavidb,

Thank you for your post! We appreciate your review of our property and your candid feedback in regards to the Courtyard brand and Marriott Rewards Platinum Membership. Our General Manager is sharing your comments with our Ownership and Marriott corporate.

We look forward to your next visit (just remind us to put you in a Spa King!),

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This is a fairly new hotel. I stayed there for two nights and was impressed with the way the room was arranged. The room was a standard size but the bed was turned facing the window. It was just nice to see something different. The decor in the room was very pleasant. The TV was flatscreen with tons of choices and menus. The refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot with real coffee cups were a plus. A phone next to the commode was something different. The pool and whirlpool tub were nice and the staff was too. My wife left her toothbrush at home. We went to the desk and the desk clerk gave her a new one, in a case, at no charge. When I made the reservations on-line, I paid extra for the breakfast and it turned out to be a good deal. The food was good, all you can eat with eggs cooked to order. I don't have any complaints about my stay. I'd certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: 211, 311, 411 have the roof of the lobby outside the window. We were in 211 first and moved. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenrms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear glenrms,

Thank you for your detailed post! We are delighted that you enjoyed our property's amenities, layout and breakfast.

Looking forward to your next visit,

Lauren/The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#2 of 10 in Blacksburg
652 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#8 of 10 in Blacksburg
208 reviews
2.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#6 of 10 in Blacksburg
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Blacksburg

Property: Courtyard Blacksburg
Address: 105 Southpark Dr, Blacksburg, VA 24060-6664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Blacksburg Marriott
Blacksburg Courtyard
Courtyard Blacksburg Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing