We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, convenient place for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Blacksburg
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, PA
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, convenient place for an overnight stay”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

So, we're on a college visit to VT and needed place to stay for the night so that we'd be able to arrive on campus for the morning start of our tour. This isn't the closest hotel to the campus, in fact, it's outside of the downtown area completely and about a 10 minute drive over to the campus.

However, it's quiet here. Very nice rooms and reasonably priced. If you're looking for quick access to the campus or visiting a student, then this perhaps is not the best place for you, but if you want something away from the hustle and bustle to spend a weekend while in the town for a game or other purpose, this is just perfect.

Nice pool -- although we didn't get to use it. Breakfast is good as well and not overly priced for hotel fare ($9), but not included in the price of the room -- perhaps the only thing we didn't like about the stay and I would encourage the hotel to consider changing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasagna329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    48
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
71
26
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
MD
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

My husband and I, along with some extended family stayed here for one night. WE LOVED it! Again Marriott does not disappoint! Our room was clean and ready for us to check in early- by 12 noon. The front desk staff was soooooo friendly and helpful- anything we needed they provided- scissors, an extra chair, etc. Our room was clean, large and spacious! The front desk even provided some fresh baked cookies upon check- in. The hotel has free wi-fi along with a business center where we could check-in for our flight and print boarding passes for free. The continental breakfast was included in our room rate packeage and was AMAZING!!!!! Fresh fruit, pancakes, waffles, buscuits, sausage, country fixins- for those who like that sort of thing, toast, bagels, bacon.....etc. Check out was smooth and they even mailed some items for us. Thanks Marriott! Special thanks to Lauren- the sales Manager. She even contacted me after our stay to make sure things went well!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyja44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear nyja44,

Wow, thank you for your kind words about our property! We really appreciate your review and for being so detailed. Hopefully, your post will help future guests know about our hotel before arriving. It is great to hear that our service and amenities helped make it a nice visit.

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This rather new Courtyard was a cut above the rest....We stayed in one of the king/sofa bed rooms. There was a defined coffee area that included ceramic mugs and lighting that wouldn't disturb anyone still asleep. Under the coffee counter was a microwave and fridge. The breakfast buffet was quite good for $9 and included scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits, fruit, waffles, etc. The staff was outstandingly friendly and helpful. I would stay there again in a minute!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperSueB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear SuperSueB,

Great to hear that you had a nice visit with us and thank you for being so detailed in your post!

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Clean and close to Va Tech. It was a good value and I would stay here again. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was great. Price is also a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlinkDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Dear Frelk,

Thank you for staying at our property and for your kind review! Should you return to the New River Valley, we would love to have you visit again!

Safe Travels,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed here one night while attending the Virginia Tech Fall Open House. We were very satisfied with the hotel. The rooms were nice and clean, the hotel looks new. The staff was competent and friendly. We would definitely stay here again, it was very convenient for a visit to VTech.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runningmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you visiting with us! We do take great pride in keeping our hotel looking new and maintaining the highest level of cleanliness. I hope that you enjoyed Virginia Tech; hopefully, your son or daughter will become a Hokie!

Safe Travels,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My mom and I spent one night here in November while coming down to Tech for an open house. The staff was very friendly and suggested some nice restaurants. The rooms were very large, clean, and comfy. The breakfast buffet had to be my favorite, I'd come back just for the sausage gravy and biscuits! It was a 3-4 minute drive from the main campus and a 2 minute drive to all restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidTravler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
Dear AvidTravler123,

Thank you for choosing our property and taking the time to tell others about your experience! I hope that you enjoyed Virginia Tech and the Blacksburg area. We will have breakfast ready for you the next time you come and visit!

Safe Travels,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Stopped here "on the spur of the moment" while we were driving around trying to find falling snow for my daughter. Just a nice new property with clean rooms. Typical Courtyard, so not too many frills. But the staff was nice, room was fairly large (we had the one room suite), parking was free, etc.

If your needing to stop in this area, I'd recommend it. Very enjoyable and quiet. Also just down the road from restaurants and stores - and just off the Interstate.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Sales Manager at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, January 11, 2010
Dear wwills,

Thank you for your post! Great to hear that you had a nice visit with us. I hope that your daughter was able to see some snow!

Safe Travels,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#3 of 10 in Blacksburg
667 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#8 of 10 in Blacksburg
212 reviews
2.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#6 of 10 in Blacksburg
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Blacksburg

Property: Courtyard Blacksburg
Address: 105 Southpark Dr, Blacksburg, VA 24060-6664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Blacksburg Marriott
Blacksburg Courtyard
Courtyard Blacksburg Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing