We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (668)
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveler rating
451
145
53
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
145
53
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvirginia techtwo sinksplace to stayshuttle servicebreakfast buffethotel restaurantroom was cleanfree shuttlemy sonenjoyed my stayexcellent hotelconvenient locationcollege tourfront desk stafffirst ratecan't beat the locationin town
Filter
Updating list...
627 - 632 of 668 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Our group of 18 professionals found the Inn at Virginia Tech to be a terrific match to our meeting and accommodation needs. The airy conference room was set up to our exact specifications. The snack/coffee bar (available throughout the day) was a great hit with participants and the full breakfast and lunch buffets offered something substantial for everyone. The meeting room was very high tech and user friendly. The sleeping rooms and master suite were clean and roomy – although we needed to go out into one of the alcoves in the hallway to get cell phone service. Most importantly, the staff was consistently friendly and attentive. The manager was available 24/7 if we had an emergency. The shuttle bus dropped us off and picked us up when we had dinner out on the town (even gave us a quick tour of the campus). We plan to use the Inn again next year and would highly recommend it to other groups.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingnikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Armstrong, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2010

Thank you so much for the complimentary review of our lodging accommodations as well as the amenities and services of our conference center. As an IACC approved conference center, we strive for not only superior responsiveness to our conference guests, but to also be proactive in anticipating their needs. It’s tremendously rewarding to have such efforts recognized and appreciated. Thank you again for the comments and we look forward to hosting your group again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

My daughter and I spent one night to do the VT tour. Check-in was great....when we walked away from the counter my daughter said, "Samantha really likes her job and she's good at it, too!" She had taken time to answer our questions and give us additional information that proved very helpful. We both just collapsed on the fluffy bed! It was wonderful! We took advantage of the the Bed and Breakfast option and didn't regret it. It was a great visit! Even with 2 wedding parties going on, we never heard a thing!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raisingcharacters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Armstrong, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2010

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our hotel. It’s always a pleasure to hear positive comments about our products and service, but it’s particularly rewarding when an employee is remembered by name. I have shared your comments with our entire management staff, and we too hope your daughter chooses Virginia Tech and that we’re able to host your future visits to Blacksburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

The hotel is beautiful, made with the same Hokie Stone as most campus buildings. The location is good, it's possible to walk to the main part of campus within a few minutes. The lobby is nice, and we didn't have a line since we checked in after settling our daughter into her dorm. The room was spacious but otherwise seemed like every other hotel room. The bed was comfortable and there are lots of pillows - a nice plus. The bathroom was clean. Some kind of a continentental breakfast would be the thing that brings me back here. The food was very expensive for room service, so we didn't want to try the restaurant. We drove off campus for breakfast. You can stay at any of the hotel chains in the area for the same price (or less) and have breakfast included. Since we have a freshman and will be visiting the campus for the next 4 years, I'd like to see the Inn be a little more competitive in this regard. Yes, you're the closest hotel - but the Holiday Inn is just across the street. I'd be willing to stay somewhere a little less plush to save $50 and have breakfast included.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCrizer, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our facility. We value the opinions received from our guests and often used their suggestions to improve our products and services. Based on feedback we have received from our guests, we implemented a Bed & Breakfast rate earlier this year. For a nominal fee above our best available nightly rate, breakfast can be included for each adult on the reservation. Unlike most hotels which feature a limited continental breakfast, the Bed and Breakfast rate includes our full breakfast buffet. Our goal is to provide our guests with whatever option best suits their particular needs. Thank you again for the review, and I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to host your next visit to campus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

I had read the other reviews here before we went -having no choice on where to stay--but we found it to be a very nice, seemingly well run place to relax. Nice rooms ( we were on the golf course side that appears to be a large meadow..) with good beds, lots of pillows, nice bathroom plus a second outside sink area. We had many checking in at one time with multiple lines--but nice friendly staff seemed reasonably organized. Rooms were QUIET--which is the No. 1 requirement I have. We did not hear any noise from adjacent or overhead rooms, nor form the hall. Door closers don't slam the doors either--a major flaw at most hotels.They need a light breakfast 'bar' to go with coffee bar, but otherwise restaurant was fine for lunch. Pool was off site on the campus!! Bizarre...

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honestreviewer056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCrizer, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2010

Thank you so much for the review. We're extremely pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one and that you had so many positive things to say about both our rooms and our staff. We are constantly striving to improve our facilities and service, and I have shared your comments about a light breakfast bar with our Food & Beverage Director.

Although we do not have a pool on site, we have an agreement with the university which allows our guests access to campus facilities. While this may be somewhat unique, this arrangement provides our guests with extensive recreational amenities, including an indoor pool, basketball, and racquetball courts, normally found only in much larger resort properties.

Again, we’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will be your hotel of choice when returning to Blacksburg and Virginia Tech.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

My teenage daughter and I spent one night at the Inn last week. Our purpose for visiting Blacksburg was to tour Virginia Tech. We arrived at 5pm, and spent 20 minutes waiting to be checked-in. There were 3 guests ahead of us in line, and only one clerk working at the reception desk. We were surprised that another clerk was not called to assist, and that the working clerk offered no acknowledgement or apology for our time spent in line.
Upon arrival to our room, we noted that the internet service was not working. We were informed by the front desk clerk that it was expected to be "out most of the evening". Fortunately, it was up by 7pm.
While our room was clean, we noted that only one bar of soap was provided to be used for both the sink and shower and the towels were like sandpaper. We also noted a large "bleach stain" on the bedspread.
I had looked forward to our stay at the Inn, and am not a "picky" hotel guest. However, in the future I will plan to stay at one of the local chain hotels.
On the upside - the extra $3 charge for parking was worth it as we were allowed to park in any student, faculty, or staff parking spot on campus.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank HokieLancerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCrizer, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2010

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate you sharing your experience so that we can take steps to ensure that such issues are not repeated. We apologize for any inconvenience and sincerely hope that we may have another opportunity to show you the best that our property and staff has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews