We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your Inn. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The entire staff very friendly and extremely helpful. We would certainly stay here the next time we are in the area and will continue to recommend it to others. It was very reasonably priced considering all the amenities that were available. The grounds were beautiful and provided a pleasant place to walk.
Esther Kay and Les Preston

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor and it was extremely quiet and comfortable. The view of the grounds ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Esther and Les:

It was great to read your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. Thank you for sharing them with fellow travelers.

We are fortunate to be located on Virginia Tech's beautiful campus. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed the surroundings, as well.

We hope to see you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    114
    48
    8
    7
See reviews for
213
60
19
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Had a great time visiting family. Rooms are very nice and decor Hokie-Riffic. There isn't a pool or gym but they provide access to one near by. Food at restaurant excellent. Front staff very helpful. We will come back on our next visit to Blacksburg.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank WesNTessReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear WesNTessReid:

Thank you for sharing these notes about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and we were happy to see that you enjoyed your stay.

We have a guest room renovation project planned for the end of this year. We hope you will return to see the results of our improvement efforts.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Rooms are comfortable and layout is nice. It is nice to have a frig in the room. There is a constant "leaking" sound of water associated with the air conditioning that you have to listen to while you are sleeping. There doesn't appear to be a fan/vent in the bathroom making any sounds able to be heard outside the bathroom...makes you very uncomfortable.
The breakfast buffet is amazing. The buffet chef/omelet maker has the right personality that makes you want to enjoy an omelet and goes out of his way to provide you with whatever you need; however the wait staff was a bit pushy and anxious to clear our plates before we were finished.
The meeting facilities are exceptional and the wait staff for the lunch and refreshments are very friendly and accommodating.
The front desk staff as well as shuttle drivers and maintenance crew are exceptionally nice and there to help you with whatever you need.
I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with somewhat of a view and not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 777lsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear 777lsage:

It was great to read about your experience at The Inn at Virginia Tech. I'm glad our staff was so helpful. I'm sorry you had difficulties with noise from the air conditioning unit in your room. Our Room Attendant should have noted that for correction prior to your arrival.

Thank you for sharing your comments. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and show you our Hokie Hospitality.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed at the Inn during a visit to the college with my upcoming college age son. The location was perfect for our purposes. It was easy to get to. Right on campus (though to be honest, across the street were other hotels). The price was on the same lines as the other nearby hotels. The room and hotel was very clean, comfortable, and pleasant. Beds were comfortable, though pillows were a little soft for my taste. But there were plenty of them. There is a restaurant in the hotel, though I did not try the food. We ventured out. The Inn is right next to the Undergraduate Admissions office, so very convenient for college visits.

My check in was smooth and quick, as was check out.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VA_Brad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear VA_Brad:

Thank you for sharing these comments with fellow travelers. We know they like to see what other guests have to say about our hotel.

We appreciate your business and your kind comments. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Just spent the night while helping our recent grad move out of town.

The inn is attractive. Rooms are large and comfortable, but a little dated.

I was surprised by the room to room noise. Maybe they are trying for the 'dorm experience'. You could hear conversations and lots of plumbing noise.

Staff is helpful when engaged, but generally inattentive.

Overall, a nice place in a great location, but not a very good value

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Bob M:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. I'm sorry our staff was not more attentive during your visit. We know how important it is to engage with our guests - and so many of our staff members are students, They can be very helpful when visitors need information about the University and the campus.

Congratulations on your student's graduation. I know that is an exciting time for any family.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope you will return one day to see the results of our improvement efforts.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My son and his finance recently got married in the chapel at Virginia Tech. Family and friends stayed at the Inn. Many of us were there for 3 days. My experience differed from those offered by other reviewers. My room was very nice, not in any way dated. It was large, inviting and very comfortable. The staff offered wonderful service, and went above and beyond in many cases. We also used the Inn for the reception, and it was beautiful. The dinner was delicious and the service was very good. All in all, I was extremely pleased with all aspects of my stay. Thank you for making the wedding weekend even more special.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on the third floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMBF-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear BMBF-3:

Thank you for sharing the review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciated the opportunity to host your son's wedding party. I know it was a special experience to have their ceremony on the campus.

If you are back in Blacksburg in the future, I hope we will have the opportunity to accommodate you again.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great customer service, nice lobby (with outdoor seating), meeting rooms and breakfast area. Rooms are pretty big. Right within the Viriginia Tech campus --- close to downtown, several restaurants and cafes in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelnow2011db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Travelnow2011db:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about a recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We were glad to see that you enjoyed your visit. If your travels bring you back to Blacksburg, we hope you will stay with us again.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
0.9 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 8 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#4 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Property: The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061-0001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing