We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2008

We stayed here so my son could take a tour of Va. Tech. The location is excellent, on the edge of the campus. The grounds are big enough so that the hotel is quiet, but there's a convenient large shopping plaza less than a mile away, with a 24-hour grocery store.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Arrendajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 609 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2008

Rooms - Great
Location - Out of the way
Cleanliness - Great
Check in / front desk - Good
Service - Good
Restaurant/Food - Good

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

We've stayed at this hotel a couple of times, and also at the Holiday Inn across the street. This one is, of course, much newer, and so therefore a little more elegant. The Holiday Inn has a pool, which this does not.

During football weekends, it's darn near impossible to get a room here unless you're part of a reunion. As with all hotels in the area, prices go up on any big activity weekend. We are usually able to get a room at the beginning of the semester when we drop our daughter off.

Benefits for football game - there is a shuttle that takes guests to the stadium. However, other folks can pay to park in the lot, so make sure you don't drive to breakfast or lunch and expect to find a slot for a 1pm game.

My complaint about the room was that I didn't have a nightstand on my side of the bed. I almost always need a glass of water at night, and I had to put this on the floor. The bed was comfy. Location is the biggest benefit.

Unless we are attending reunion activities, we prefer to stay across the street for about $30 less per night.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2008

The hotel was located on campus which was great for visiting our grandson. Room was large and beds were comfortable. The plus was the restaurant. We wanted an upscale restaurant that was quite with good food - wonderful steaks, rack of lamb and home made ice creams. If you want to stay in Blacksburg, this is the place.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Watchung2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2007

As a frequent visitor to Blacksburg we usually stay at the Microtel, which is an incredible value with incredible sheets but a drive away. We splurged and stayed at Virginia Inn, very nice ambiance but the sheets were like sleeping in the sand, full of pills, and they ran out of Sunday paper to buy, so I had to walk into town for a paper. Great location and nice cocktail lounge, but the only way I would stay again is for the convenience to VT and town.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank ferg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2007

I stayed at the Inn at Virginia Tech for the first time this week - two nights. I do think they could come up with a more impressive name, but the hotel is wonderful. For about $110/night (AARP rate), I had a room with a pastoral view, very comfortable bed, and free wireless. Access to the campus could not be easier and a parking pass is included for $3/day that allows parking in any faculty, student, or visitor lot. The restaurant was very good – nice place to visit and take your time if you are meeting friends. The fitness facility was better than many hotels that are much more expensive. 3 Landice L-9 treadmills, stationary bikes (upright and reclining), elliptical machines, a full set of dumbbells, and a small circuit of machines to hit most muscle groups. The circuit machines were average but everything else was well done. Cell phone reception in the rooms is iffy (probably the stone walls around the building) but service in the lobby and outside the room was fine. In terms of overall comfort and amenities, the Inn compares favorably to many hotels and resorts in the $200 to $300/night range. Great beds, very clean, spacious rooms. If you need to visit Blacksburg, this is a great choice for lodging.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We stayed at the Inn while settling in our student. The room was very attractive ,well equipped, and spotless. We also appreciated the very large bathroom. They have a very good Sunday brunch in the hotel. Recommend this hotel highly. One little issue of note is that it was impossible to get cell phone reception in our room. Had to go outside into the parking lot to make calls, which was quite an inconvenience. Not sure why cell phone reception is so poor. Perhaps because the Inn is made of stone?

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PennsylvaniaKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#3 of 10 in Blacksburg
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Blacksburg-University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#6 of 10 in Blacksburg
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#9 of 10 in Blacksburg
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range: $129 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing