We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, quiet and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy, quiet and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Inn as part of a roadtrip with my husband and kids. The location is easy to find off Route 460, is convenient to campus and restaurants, and right next to the visitors center. The room was spacious and comfortable. (Very handy to have 2 sinks when traveling with kids.) Each staff member was friendly and efficient.

We had breakfast at the restaurant inside the hotel. The buffet was high quality.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear S D -

Thank you for sharing these comments about your family's recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We're glad you found our location to be convenient for your visit.

Thank you also for the nice notes about our breakfast buffet. We offer many options to please a variety of tastes.

We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    112
    46
    8
    7
See reviews for
206
58
18
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

First let me say that this hotel may not be the hotel for you if you don't have a car. It is a bit of a hike for all food options, which is fine if the weather permits.

The room service was extremely expensive and a complimentary breakfast is not part of the deal...however, the breakfast buffet is fantastic!! For 11 dollars you can get smoked salmon, biscuits and gravy, fresh strawberries and other fruit and an omelette made at the omelette station.

Hallway noise is a little loud, even w the fan running. Service was good but I'd rather stay in a Hampton inn, to be honest.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank caroline k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Ms. K -

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit to Blacksburg. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing these comments about your stay.

Your comments about our breakfast buffet are appreciated. We do offer a complimentary shuttle service in town and around campus for guests who wish to venture out during their visit.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We've stayed here a few times while visiting or transporting our son to and from college at Virginia Tech. The building says Hokie and luxury as you drive up to the Hokie stone portico. Service is friendly, attentive, and fun. Rooms (not in the basement tho) are a nice size with comfy beds. Wifi is available throughout and is included.

A few things I'd recommend to improve to make it to 5 stars. The showers need the curved shower curtain hangers. For tall folks with pointy elbows, the shower curtain overwhelms the narrow shower area. The other suggestion would be to update some of the furniture. The beautiful leather desk chair in my room looked like a big dog chew chunks out of it. We enjoyed our stay here overall!

Room Tip: Be sure to avoid the smaller basement rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dialady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Dialady -

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing this review with other travelers.

I'm pleased to tell you that we will be starting a renovation of our guest rooms when this school year is over. All the bedding and the desk chairs will be replaced at that time. We are also adding a mini-fridge in each room and preparing to install the curved shower rods you mentioned.

We hope you will return to see the results of our improvement efforts.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I agree with all of the previous comments on The Inn. My husband and I just returned from visiting our nephew who goes to Virginia Tech and we stayed for two nights at The Inn. It is a most welcoming place! Everyone on the staff is so friendly and helpful, and the rooms are very clean and quite comfortable. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NLKVU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear NLKVU,

Thank you for taking the time to post the review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. As the only hotel on the campus, we do have a most convenient location for anyone visiting the University.

Your comments are appreciated. We hope we will see you again on a future visit to Blacksburg and Virginia Tech.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have stayed at the Inn more than a dozen times while visiting our daughter at VT! The staff, location, cleanliness of rooms, food, bar, just about everything is wonderful. Our only suggestion would be to replace the double beds with Queen size beds in the " double" rooms. Other than that, it's simply perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear MsHotel -

Thank you for the notes about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing your comments with other travelers.

I hope you are a member of our ParentsClub (it's free!) so you can take advantage of room discounts and other special offers when you are here.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to campus.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here in February for a food and wine tasting. The room was spacious and we loved the comfy king sized bed. The hotel was very nice and charming, and in a great location. The staff were also very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chocofoodowineoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Chocofoodowineoholic,

It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech for the Food For Thought event. Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We know that many of our guests like to read about others' experiences before they plan their visit to Blacksburg.

We hope to see you again soon!

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at The Inn at Virginia Tech in February 2014 while visiting the VT campus. We enjoyed the hotel a great deal. The lunch buffer at Preston's was very tasty, and the room was very nice. We will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keninville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Keninville,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again when you return.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
0.9 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#6 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 8 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#4 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Property: The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061-0001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing