We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One night stay for Open House visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Mt. Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One night stay for Open House visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed one night at The Inn at Virginia Tech for an Open House the following day. The place is beautiful! Our room had two double size beds, so, kind of small for a family of four, the room was clean, up to date, and all around nice. The location to Virginia Tech is second to none, as you are right on the campus!! We did not eat at the hotel, although it looked like there were plenty of guest that did. We ate at Poor Billy's in town. (nice food, a little pricey, but very good portions). Would definitely recommend this hotel if you are visiting VA Tech. They even have a shuttle to take you over to the campus proper, we chose to walk because it was such a nice day. The hotel is also located right across the street from a good size shopping area which includes a supermarket and a Panera Bread. (i.e. walking distance for a bottle of wine!). Nice over all place. There was a gym, although we did not get to use it.

Room Tip: ask for something bigger than two double beds if you have a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyof4travelers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear FamilyofFourTravelers10,

Thank you for sharing the review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. Our location is convenient to the campus and to the University City Boulevard shopping area. I'm glad this worked well for you and your family.

If your travels bring you back to Blacksburg, we hope you will elect to stay with us again.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    114
    48
    8
    7
See reviews for
211
59
19
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We were at Virginia Tech for the TEDx and stayed here. Very nice facility and well appointed and comfortable room. Really 3.5 star but you won't be disappointed. The location was great for VT access. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was fine and made to order omelettes were very good. Worth the tiny bit extra than the national chains.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank savoy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Savoy 555,

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit for TEDx. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the convenience of our location. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.

We hope you will stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Virginia Tech.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

After looking at all the hotels in the town of Blacksburg, Va, we finally decided to go to The Inn at VT and were thrilled that we did. The front desk staff were so warm and friendly and genuinely cared. It felt great! Thank you! The room was great: so clean and beds were very comfortable. They had the exact college game on their tv that we were hoping to be able to catch' it was perfect. If my son ends up at VT, my first choice will always be the Inn at VT.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Islandpug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear IslandPug,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. As the only hotel on the campus, our location is perfect for families visiting their students or those attending events at the university. We have many students on our staff, too, and they are always eager to share information about Virginia Tech and the community.

We look forward to seeing you again if your student elects to return to Virginia Tech.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandston, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I took a short vacation in the mountains of southwest Virginia this past spring. We stayed at the Inn at Virginia Tech for 3 nights. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very accommodating, helping us with our luggage and giving us information on several attractions in the area that we weren't familiar with. We had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear John L.:

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit to Blacksburg and the New River Valley. This is a beautiful area with many activities and attractions available.

We appreciate your business and hope we will see you again if your travels bring you back to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed here recently while touring the VT campus. The inn is stunning - lots of stone work but it still feels warm and cozy. The front desk attendant was sweet and helpful - working as an intern from VT. Our room was clean with a pretty view. My husband and I, not watching the clock, walked into the dining room for breakfast just as they were cleaning up. Instead of turning us away, the waitress walked into the buffet area and asked them to keep things stocked for us until we got our fill. When they wanted to clean up, she gave us to-go containers for any seconds we might want to munch on in our room. We truly appreciated that service.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MomofBandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear MomofBandG:

Thank you for sharing these notes regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. I'm glad our staff was able to take good care of you during your visit.

We hope to see you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

From the minute you arrive to the time you leave this place has it all. The ambiance is nice for a conference center/hotel. The room could not have been nice from decor to amenitie. The In house bar/lounge was very comfortable and pleasant with nice "nibbles" at cocktail time. The in house dining room was nicely appointed and the food was very good. Portions were not large and were a little pricey. Service there too was very good. The surroundings (which are the grounds of the school are quite lovely and make for pleasant strolling.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Appleation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Appleation -

Thank you for sharing these comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and the time you took to share your thoughts with other travelers.

Virginia Tech's campus is beautiful and we are honored to be the "front door" for the university. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Clean and convenient to tech. I enjoy staying here. My room is always ready for me. Even when I arrive unexpectedly early. This us the fourth time I've been and I have yet to be disappointed. Well done.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeirdreMarchetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Deirdre,

Thank you for taking the time to share the comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and we were pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
0.9 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 8 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#4 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Property: The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061-0001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing