We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pleasant stay as usual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center to your Saves list
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Clean and convenient to tech. I enjoy staying here. My room is always ready for me. Even when I arrive unexpectedly early. This us the fourth time I've been and I have yet to be disappointed. Well done.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeirdreMarchetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Deirdre,

Thank you for taking the time to share the comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and we were pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    108
    45
    8
    7
See reviews for
194
58
18
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I just came back from four nights at The Inn at VA Tech. It was his 50th reunion during homecoming weekend. I loved the hotel and will stay there again if they change the beds. We had a king that was horrible. It was a flat, hard mattress rimmed with a metal band. Every time my husband moved, I was bounced around. Nether of us slept well. I actually did better sleeping in a chair. The only other complaint I had is minor; the wireless internet in the room did not reach through out the room. They had a desk and a chair with ottoman near the window but the internet signal did not reach that far out. They did have plenty of jacks to plug stuff in. The service was perfect throughout the facility and so was the food. Our package included breakfasts, some lunch and a dinner banquet. The banquet food was excellent. Our last 2 days we ate their breakfast buffet for $11, and it was really good. I liked their healthy food choices.

Room Tip: Ask for a better bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Susan,

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech for your recent visit. it was great to hear that you enjoyed the Homecoming events and dining experiences at our hotel.

I am pleased to tell you that we will be completing renovations early next year to include all new bedding and mini-refrigerators in every room. We hope you will return to see the results of our improvement efforts.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

While traveling and needing to make an overnight stop, we called about 3 hours ahead to Hotwire to book a 3 star hotel room with great user ratings under its blind hot deal program. When given profiles of available properties, we came to terms on an inexpensive offering with 100% positive ratings. After our credit card was charged, Hotwire gave us the name and address of the property. The Inn at Virginia Tech. Never heard of it. The only minor negative was the distance from I-81 (maybe 9 miles). The pluses were many and substantial. When we drove to the address, were were surprised to discover it sitting on the beautiful campus of Virginia Tech. University owned, it is relatively new (we surmised brand new due to its condition) finely decorated and richly appointed. Complete with beautiful restaurant (we didn't patronize it), comfortable, rooms and attentive staff, we couldn't believe it was available to the general public. It was built for use as a convention and conference center. In short, if you're even in need of a room in the Christiansburg/Blacksburg area, we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 37774ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ron:

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. At times, we do hear from people that are surprised the hotel is available to the public.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you to Blacksburg.

Yours truly.
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

2nd stay now....
I'll keep it to the point:

Pros: close, convenient, predictable, parking, shuttle and classy.
Cons: Wi-Fi is low-fi, rooms facing sunset can be warm, no free snacks or breakfast.
4 stars is due to value (no added perks) and not-so-spectacular bar/restaurant.

Amazing, accommodating staff. Nice, quiet rooms with a sense of classy, clean, predictable comfort. Nothing second rate or funky in the rooms or halls or parking or anywhere. The Wi-Fi is very hard to connect (in both locations tested so far) and very slow due to low signal propagation. The wired internet is just fine thank you--the cat5 cable in the room was bad however. Bring your own portable router and provide internet for all your guests/devices. (It is possible to connect to VT.edu net on Wi-Fi). Parking passes are only good for the hotel parking lot. You'll still need visitor passes if you need them to park on campus or use shuttle.

Restaurant:
Only eaten here once... That said, the restaurant was also predictable: a bit stuffy, food was a little overpriced and a little unimpressive. Good ideas, just not executed very well. Don't get me wrong, it'll do in a pinch, but wouldn't be my first choice. On a campus with the best food in the nation, I expected slightly more. Bar advertises "flights of bourbon or scotch." Out of the three choices, one was "no longer on the menu" (bad), one was "your choice of bourbons" (good) and one was “a single brand of scotches—no choice of selection” (bad). I think you can work on promoting the bar a little better than that. We chose to pass...

Finally: Rooms are almost impossible to get on busy weekends--anywhere near Blacksburg. So, if you want a room--book very, very, very early. It's definitely worth paying just a bit more in order to avoid staying in a worn-out super-* motel in Troutville/Salem etc... and you know what you’re getting here--for the short period of time that you'll probably stay in the room!!

Try it, you'll like it!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing sunset can be warm. Rooms near elevators--you know. If you need Wi-Fi, check signal in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taterhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Taterhed:

Thank you for sharing the comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We know that travelers appreciate the opportunity to see what others have to say about our property.

We are working with Virginia Tech's Network Services department to improve the WiFi system. I'm sorry it was a challenge for you during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangerville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed at The Inn this past weekend for the Hokie Half and 5k in Blacksburg. The accomodations were beautiful and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. I would stay at The Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Shay:

Thank you for staying at the Inn at Virginia Tech during your visit for the Hokie Half Marathon and 5k. We appreciate your business and hope you enjoyed the day's events..

Thank you also for sharing the nice comments about your stay. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, VA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great experience. Stayed here multiple times and is the best spot for visiting VT and especially if it is a home football game. One you have a great parking spot included ($15 savings) and there is no 2 night minimum stay, which is probably the only one inside of 20 miles.

Always a friendly staff and great value for breakfast, especially for kids only $6 for the buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bpaliotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Bpaliotti,

Thank you for the nice comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. I'm sure you enjoyed watching the Hokies' big win over Western Carolina.

The weekend of your stay was a bit unusual for Blacksburg. The interest in this particular game was lower than most so our availability was also greater than usual. We normally require a two-night stay for football weekends, as well.

Thanks again for posting your review. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We've stayed at the Inn several times and it has always been a very enjoyable experience. The hotel staff is very friendly and go out of there way to see to your every need. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. And the food at Preston's is very good!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishhead34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear FishHead,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of a recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and we were pleased to read the notes about your visit.

We hope to see you again soon!

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
0.9 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 8 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#4 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Property: The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing