We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Main Street Inn(Blacksburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Carpet Inn(Blacksburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Blacksburg(Blacksburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveler rating
427
139
52
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
139
52
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvirginia techtwo sinksbreakfast buffetplace to stayshuttle serviceroom was cleanhotel restaurantmy sonfree shuttleenjoyed my staycollege visitconvenient locationcan't beat the locationfront desk staffexcellent hotelomeletin town
Filter
Updating list...
485 - 490 of 637 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

While traveling and needing to make an overnight stop, we called about 3 hours ahead to Hotwire to book a 3 star hotel room with great user ratings under its blind hot deal program. When given profiles of available properties, we came to terms on an inexpensive offering with 100% positive ratings. After our credit card was charged, Hotwire gave us the name and address of the property. The Inn at Virginia Tech. Never heard of it. The only minor negative was the distance from I-81 (maybe 9 miles). The pluses were many and substantial. When we drove to the address, were were surprised to discover it sitting on the beautiful campus of Virginia Tech. University owned, it is relatively new (we surmised brand new due to its condition) finely decorated and richly appointed. Complete with beautiful restaurant (we didn't patronize it), comfortable, rooms and attentive staff, we couldn't believe it was available to the general public. It was built for use as a convention and conference center. In short, if you're even in need of a room in the Christiansburg/Blacksburg area, we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 37774ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Ron:

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. At times, we do hear from people that are surprised the hotel is available to the public.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you to Blacksburg.

Yours truly.
Tom Shaver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

2nd stay now....
I'll keep it to the point:

Pros: close, convenient, predictable, parking, shuttle and classy.
Cons: Wi-Fi is low-fi, rooms facing sunset can be warm, no free snacks or breakfast.
4 stars is due to value (no added perks) and not-so-spectacular bar/restaurant.

Amazing, accommodating staff. Nice, quiet rooms with a sense of classy, clean, predictable comfort. Nothing second rate or funky in the rooms or halls or parking or anywhere. The Wi-Fi is very hard to connect (in both locations tested so far) and very slow due to low signal propagation. The wired internet is just fine thank you--the cat5 cable in the room was bad however. Bring your own portable router and provide internet for all your guests/devices. (It is possible to connect to VT.edu net on Wi-Fi). Parking passes are only good for the hotel parking lot. You'll still need visitor passes if you need them to park on campus or use shuttle.

Restaurant:
Only eaten here once... That said, the restaurant was also predictable: a bit stuffy, food was a little overpriced and a little unimpressive. Good ideas, just not executed very well. Don't get me wrong, it'll do in a pinch, but wouldn't be my first choice. On a campus with the best food in the nation, I expected slightly more. Bar advertises "flights of bourbon or scotch." Out of the three choices, one was "no longer on the menu" (bad), one was "your choice of bourbons" (good) and one was “a single brand of scotches—no choice of selection” (bad). I think you can work on promoting the bar a little better than that. We chose to pass...

Finally: Rooms are almost impossible to get on busy weekends--anywhere near Blacksburg. So, if you want a room--book very, very, very early. It's definitely worth paying just a bit more in order to avoid staying in a worn-out super-* motel in Troutville/Salem etc... and you know what you’re getting here--for the short period of time that you'll probably stay in the room!!

Try it, you'll like it!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing sunset can be warm. Rooms near elevators--you know. If you need Wi-Fi, check signal in room before accepting room--some rooms have poor coverage. Need a big room for cadets or family? Try the suites--they are indeed sweet!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taterhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Taterhed:

Thank you for sharing the comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We know that travelers appreciate the opportunity to see what others have to say about our property.

We are working with Virginia Tech's Network Services department to improve the WiFi system. I'm sorry it was a challenge for you during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed at The Inn this past weekend for the Hokie Half and 5k in Blacksburg. The accomodations were beautiful and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. I would stay at The Inn again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Shay:

Thank you for staying at the Inn at Virginia Tech during your visit for the Hokie Half Marathon and 5k. We appreciate your business and hope you enjoyed the day's events..

Thank you also for sharing the nice comments about your stay. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great experience. Stayed here multiple times and is the best spot for visiting VT and especially if it is a home football game. One you have a great parking spot included ($15 savings) and there is no 2 night minimum stay, which is probably the only one inside of 20 miles.

Always a friendly staff and great value for breakfast, especially for kids only $6 for the buffet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpaliotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Bpaliotti,

Thank you for the nice comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. I'm sure you enjoyed watching the Hokies' big win over Western Carolina.

The weekend of your stay was a bit unusual for Blacksburg. The interest in this particular game was lower than most so our availability was also greater than usual. We normally require a two-night stay for football weekends, as well.

Thanks again for posting your review. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We've stayed at the Inn several times and it has always been a very enjoyable experience. The hotel staff is very friendly and go out of there way to see to your every need. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. And the food at Preston's is very good!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishhead34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear FishHead,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of a recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and we were pleased to read the notes about your visit.

We hope to see you again soon!

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews