We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Friendly, Helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient, Friendly, Helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for orientation and loved it. The staff could not have made the experience easier. The hotel shuttle knew just where to drop us off and even came back to get us as needed. I hope to stay here next time I go visit my son.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrienneArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Adrienne:

Thank you for posting these notes about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing your comments with other travelers.

It's great that you were able to use our complimentary shuttle service. It's a great way to get around campus without worrying about finding a parking place!

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Blacksburg and Virginia Tech.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    114
    48
    8
    7
See reviews for
213
60
19
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

From the moment you park your vehicle, you cant help but notice how well kept the grounds were! Upon entering the staff greets you with a warm welcome. They rooms were great. The view we had was awesome! The WifI is literally a click on ur on ur way, no typing in passwords or room numbers! I am sure we will be back! Great job!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pontia68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Pontia68:

Thank you for posting these notes about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. As the only hotel right on the campus, our location is most convenient for visits to the university.

We appreciate your business and hope that we will have the opportunity to accommodate you again on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile


It is a very nice hotel to stay, is on Virginia Tech campus, you can walk all around. Nice rooms beds are double a little small for 2 adults. Restaurant is very nice, good buffet at reasonable price. Sorry no pool. WiFi worked good.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Cecilia:

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and thank you for posting these comments about your stay.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to Virginia Tech.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel is very nice, with absolutely wonderful staff! They all bent over backwards to help and be very cordial and welcoming. The head of housekeeping went well above and beyond when I left my iPad in my room after checkout... tracking it down, sending it to me while I was south on vacation, then tracking it down and re-sending it to me when it couldn't be delivered and was returned to the hotel! The rooms are very nice. We dined twice at the excellent restaurant on site. And we definitely took advantage of the free shuttle!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Rebeccah:

Thank you for the notes regarding your stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. It was great to see your comments about our staff. I'm glad we were able to get your iPad returned to you.

We hope to see you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We recently visited Blacksburg to give our high school daughter a first look at Virginia Tech. We were really delighted with our stay at the Inn. Our room was lovely, and the people working there were first rate. Behind the Inn is a meadow of native grasses and flowers. It is easy to reach from the interstate as you come into town, and it is literally a block from the university. Breakfast was the only meal we ate there, but the buffet was full and fresh and you really shouldn't miss the biscuits. I would recommend this place to anyone traveling to Blacksburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Anne R:

Thank you for sharing these notes about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. I'm sure your daughter was impressed with her visit to this beautiful campus.

It was great to read of your experience at The Inn. We hope to see you again in the future.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great room, comfy, clean, great welcome and service. Great value for money through Hotwire. Grounds in the back are great to unwind after a long day, while having a meal or drink on the patio. Peaceful oasis (may be different after Back to school?).

Room Tip: Upper floor, back ("countryside") view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breakfastfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Breakfastfor2:

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing the notes about your stay.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed the ambience of our Great Lawn Even when school is in session, that is a peaceful area.

We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Perfect for a family wedding held on campus which is why we were there. Rooms are decent size and even though the bathrooms are huge (or updated much) having two sinks is nice. One sink was outside so you had privacy. Service was good and the property is fairly well maintained. Hate to be too picky but the fake flowers in the lobby could go. Had to have the down pillows and comforter removed due to allergies. Their website say down is available upon request but we didn't request it and only noticed after an allergic reaction. Breakfast buffet at $11 is a good value - nothing over the top but decent and good selection. Didn't have any other food except at the reception held there and unfortunately that food wasn't good at all but the service and room where the reception was held was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonesgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Jonesgo:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We know these reviews are helpful for other travelers deciding where to stay.

Thanks again,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
0.9 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 8 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#4 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Property: The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061-0001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing