We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location on VT campus but needs work!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lansdowne, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location on VT campus but needs work!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a graduation and though the outside of the hotel is very nice the rooms need some work. The first room we got was dirty and smelled strange so we asked the front desk for a new one and they were very helpful with it. The one big downside is that there were 3 of us in the room and the beds are only doubles, quite smaller than queens. The hotel is expensive and if they're going to charge what they do, then they really need to fix up the rooms and put queen beds in the rooms. Room was very small and there was hair on my unused towel and in my bed sheets. That was gross! I will say the bed was very comfy. The rooms seemed outdated and needed some TLC. I would return but they need to replace the beds to queens!! And lower then price per night!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveLifeAlways7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear LoveLifeAlways7:

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your visit for Graduation. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing your concerns with us.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the difficulties you encountered with your initial room assignment and with the Housekeeping issues you mentioned. These problems should not be occurring. Your notes have been shared with our Housekeeping Manager for follow-up and correction. I'm sorry they affected your stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your responses. We appreciate the opportunity to review your comments and make improvements.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    117
    49
    8
    7
See reviews for
241
66
20
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My son and I were checking out Tech and during our week long trip the Inn was by far the best hotel we stayed at.
The hotel is new, the grounds are spectacular.
Wish we could have stayed longer!
Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Only minus is they don't have a pool. But I think they assume you are a Tech alum and you'll use their athletic facilities

Room Tip: Back side faces the golf course/pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Eric R.:

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent campus visit with your son. It was great to read that you enjoyed your visit.

If your son selects Virginia Tech, we encourage you to take advantage of our Parents Club. There is no cost to join and it provides room and restaurant discounts for your future visits.

We hope to see you again on future visits to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here for a conference over two days. Decided to come in a day early! Was meet by staff for assistance when I drove up. Staff was polite, friendly, and helpful. The room was very comfortable. Conference space was excellent and very modern. I had both dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. Buffet style but the food was delicious. Enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glowe02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Glowe02:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We were pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit with us and we appreciate your efforts to share these notes with other travelers.

We hope to see you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, VA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed here for a training conference. It's a beautiful facility and everyone is very cordial and professional. It has a fitness center, but no onsite pool. The rooms are nicely furnished and clearly designed for business travelers - my double/double room had an L-shaped desk with both wired and wireless internet connections. But there were a couple of things that I found odd.

First, the ice and vending machines are not in a separate room, but in a 'crook' of the hallway for rooms. If you're a light sleeper, you might want to make sure you're not in the central part of a hallway; people getting drinks at odd hours might disturb you.

Second, the bar/lounge is more of an anteroom for the restaurant; informal to the point that when I arrived late, I couldn't figure out where the lounge started and the restaurant began. A small thing, to be sure, but still . . .

The convenience of the location, if you're attending events at the Inn or Virginia Tech, would more than make up for the room cost. If not . . . . well, just something to consider.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nondumblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear NonDumbBlond:

Thank you for staying with us at The Inn at Virginia Tech and for taking the time to share your comments about your visit. We appreciate your business and your thoughtful insights about your stay.

We are always looking for ways to improve our services and facilities. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellysford, VA
Level Contributor
392 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We attended a conference at the Skelton Conference Center. It was handy to be able to stay on site with an excellent restaurant. Not much of a gift store, but great service from the large number of staff who went out of their way to direct us to correct locations. Clean room, quiet location.

Room Tip: Some rooms can be very far from conference center. If close location or quiet location are important...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefGeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear ChefGeorge1,

Thank you for posting the comments about your recent visit to The Inn at Virginia Tech. Many travelers look forward to seeing how others have enjoyed their experience with specific properties.

We were pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and our restaurant, Preston's. We would love to see you again when you next return to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn at Virginia Tech 8 or 9 times and it is always our first choice when in Black burg, VA. Such a friendly staff that makes you feel at home . Front desk so welcoming. We love the rooms which are very large and spacious and also 2 sinks which makes it so much easier when every one is getting ready in the morning. Wonderful hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kai1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Kai1970,

Thank you for sharing the kind words about our staff after your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. Our staff joins me in thanking you for recognizing their efforts to serve you.

We appreciate your loyalty to our property and hope to see you again soon in Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I would highly recommend The Inn at Virginia Tech for anyone visiting the Blacksburg area. Not only did the Inn provide clean and comfortable rooms but also wonderful staff that were friendly, helpful, and considerate of your time and needs. The Inn provided a great shuttle service in the area to the point of almost not needing a rental car during your stay. We even received a tour of the University that was outstanding. We will be staying again on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJHuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear KJHuls,

Thank you for taking the time to share the comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and thank you for your review.

We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
0.9 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 9 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#4 of 9 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 9 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
7.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Property: The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing