We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Service”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I would highly recommend The Inn at Virginia Tech for anyone visiting the Blacksburg area. Not only did the Inn provide clean and comfortable rooms but also wonderful staff that were friendly, helpful, and considerate of your time and needs. The Inn provided a great shuttle service in the area to the point of almost not needing a rental car during your stay. We even received a tour of the University that was outstanding. We will be staying again on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJHuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear KJHuls,

Thank you for taking the time to share the comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and thank you for your review.

We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    123
    51
    10
    7
See reviews for
256
69
21
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was very impressed by the friendliness and competence of all the staff we dealt with. The rates were quite reasonable as well. The beds were very comfortable with 4 pillows per bed. I would definitely stay at the Inn at Virginia Tech again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_to_drive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Love To Drive:

It was great to read about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to see you again when you return to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you've ever stayed at a hotel not associated with a major brand, but tied to a university, you need to try this one. Very comfortable and affordable. Has everything you need from a high end hotel. Food was excellent. Area is beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR_Kemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear JR_Kemet:

Thank you for the nice comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We know that other travelers appreciate the opportunity to see what previous guests think about a property.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Blacksburg and Virginia Tech.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My family enjoyed our stay at The Inn at VTech. Very nice front desk personnel - friendly and competent. The room was comfortable - clean with a lot of space. We had a room with two double beds. It's priced higher than some of the other hotels in town, but you can't beat its location if you are going to visit the university. We had a great experience here and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runningmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear RunningMom:

Thank you for sharing your notes about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing your observations with other travelers.

We offer a Parents Club for families of Virginia Tech students that provides special rates and exclusive offers to members. I hope you will take advantage of this program.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluemont, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently stayed at The Inn at Virginia Tech and was pleasantly surprised. The Inn is located right on the Virginia Tech campus and is a nice, affordable, full service hotel with a very friendly staff. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

The first night we were there we ate in the restaurant at the Inn, Preston’s. The meal was just so-so. I think the restaurant is missing a big opportunity to better serve its customers; the restaurant presents itself as an upscale, white tablecloth, full service restaurant, however, that is really not what is needed on a college campus. They would do better to tone down their concept and offer more recognizable, affordable and enjoyable dinner choices. The current menu consists of items such as Shrimp Cocktail, Rainbow Trout Crustini, Roasted Rack of Lamb, Buffalo Burgers, Scallops and Salmon. No burgers, chicken sandwiches, dinner salads, or pasta. When we were there the restaurant patrons were mostly families with children (all ages) and what appeared to be business travelers. If we travel back to the area I would gladly stay at the Inn – but would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Qwerty:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the cuisine in Preston's Restaurant. We do offer a lighter fare in the more casual atmosphere of the Continental Divide.

I hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The rooms were typical for a standard hotel room but the service and friendliness of the staff was 1st class. We had 2 rooms right next door to each other with a golf course view. The front desk staff always spoke to us when we passed by and made us feel welcome. We asked for roll away beds and they were there and set up in about 20 minutes. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent and fairly priced and the breakfast buffet was perfect. There is even a shuttle that took my friend to get a manicure on the day I stranded her at the hotel by taking our car to Roanoke.
The concierge was helpful with maps, directions and restaurant suggestions. This was a full service hotel without the high prices. Will recommend it and stay there anytime I return to Blacksburg.

Room Tip: Spring for the golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSBandKDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear LSB and KDF:

Thank you for the nice comments about our staff at The Inn at Virginia Tech. It was great to hear how they were able to assist you during your recent visit to Blacksburg.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great stay - staff was very courteous from the moment I checked in to the time I left - even helping out with any problems or questions about where to have dinner! The rooms are great, large and spacious and provide a desk and chair - along with a very comfortable bed. I enjoyed the view out the windows of the grassy area behind the hotel. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Love the view out the back since it looks out over the grassy area instead of a parking lot. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Joy:

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We are proud of them and their sincere commitment to provide great service to our guests.

If your travels bring you back to Blacksburg, we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#8 of 9 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#6 of 9 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#5 of 9 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Property: The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061-0001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing