We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Inn at VT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have stayed at The Inn many times this past year. Each time I arrived, the front desk clerks have been very helpful and pleasant. The rooms are always clean and there is always plenty of towels in the bathrooms. I have used the shuttle service plenty of times, and the drivers have always gone the extra mile. Every employee I have come in contact with has gone above and beyond to help my family in which ever way they could. When we were visiting during the VT/UVA football game, they were packed in the lobby bar and the staff was overwhelmed, but they were pleasant and making the best of a crazy situation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Stephanie,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We are proud of our team members and it's always great tor hear from guests that have enjoyed their service.

We look forward to serving you again on future visits to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    114
    48
    8
    7
See reviews for
211
59
19
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Had a good stay with great service. My room (Single King) was large with ample furnishings. My room was near the end of the hallway, which is much longer than most hotels. This is odd, but not a major inconvenience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Kyle K -

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit to Blacksburg. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing your comments about your stay.

We look forard to the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this conference center/ hotel for a meeting. The rooms were nicely appointed, spacious, clean, and quiet.
There is a dining room and bar. We
opted to go to a local restaurant the management had suggested.
The magical decorations of Christmas were everywhere. A beautiful, cozy fireplaces adorned the entry lobby.
The exercise room/ pool area was wonderful . That is always a must for me. It was amply appointed with nice toiletries and large towels.
I would most definitely select this hotel to return to. Friendly staff. Very good location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaLee011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Lynda Lee,

Thank you for the sharing the comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center. We appreciate your business and we were happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

The Inn at Virginia Tech is far better than what I was expecting for a college campus "inn." The hotel has managed to seamlessly blend the college inn functions with a sufficiently well equipped hotel and restaurant. And while the physical structure is mildly reminiscent of a college dorm, the rooms are solid, quiet, and very hotel-esque.

The staff gets particular credit form being exceptionally pleasant, informative, and engaging, without being intrusive. It is not a luxury hotel, but meets the business travelers needs quite nicely.

Good work out facility.

Other than the presence of an excessive amount of academics, this place is first rate.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank T N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear T N,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to write the review.

We hope you will stay with us again on a future visit to Blacksburg. (There's not much we can do about all the "academics!")

Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Staying at this hotel for the first time was a pleasant surprise. It is in a beautiful building that matches the architecture of the Virginia Tech campus. We were there shortly after Thanksgiving and it was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The staff was excellent and the room was very comfortable. It is right on the campus of the university and adjoins the 9 hole golf course

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tajosef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Tajosef,

Thank you for staying with us at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit to Blacksburg. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the holiday decor.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve again on a future visit.

Tom Shaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My stay was on 10/15/12. I like to read other reviews to see if what I'm going to write matches or is totally different. My stay is reflected in the excellent rating given. The Inn is strategically located on the campus of the University and it is well maintained comfortable facility. My room was clean and orderly. The desk and chair allowed me to access the Internet easily from both my laptop and IPad. The facility was quiet and a step above providing a safe stay. Parking is plentiful and not a problem. Maybe some rooms have older TV's as mine did. No big deal. So if you are looking for a fine facility, don't hesitate with this one. Check the rates and if you need a budget hotel, stay elsewhere. For me it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: Very full on football weekend events
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raberdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Raberdon,

Thank you for staying with us at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit to Blacksburg. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing the comments about our hotel.

I'm happy to tell you that we have recently ordered flat screen televisions for all of our guestrooms and we expect them to be installed within the next few weeks. This is an improvement our guests have requested and we are pleased to be able to do it.

We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

plus: kind receptionist, triple-sheeted bed, nice views, plenty of parking

minus: far parking, no valet, farthest possible walk to room once inside, "tired" furnishings and carpet, icky bed spread, tube tv, grumpy maid on my way to my room, SHOCKINGLY overpriced for the facility and the room

comments: I don't mind paying for what I'm getting but I'm opposed to NOT getting what I paid for. I thought I was treating myself to something special when I paid nearly $200 for the room. I feel like I've been had. On my way to my room, I got a peek into rooms that were (being cleaned and were) much nicer. As for solo female travelers, I say choose another hotel in the area. The size of this hotel made me feel isolated and the extremely long hallways made me feel uneasy because while the hotel was supposedly "full", there really was no one around and in an emergency with a potentially drunk or morally deficient man, I think you'd be out of luck.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear S K -

Thank you for your notes regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and your observations.

I'm sorry you felt concerned about your safety. Our security plan includes an extensive array of cameras and our property's security officers are provided by the Virginia Tech Police Department. Our room rates do vary considerably, determined by the level of demand from our guests and by special events on campus and in town.

I am pleased to report that new flat-screen televisions for all our guestrooms have been ordered. We expect them to be installed in Otober, allowing us to offer several channels in High Definition.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your stay. We hope you will return to see the results of our improvement efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
0.9 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 8 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#4 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Property: The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061-0001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing