We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (668)
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveler rating
451
145
53
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
145
53
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvirginia techtwo sinksplace to stayshuttle servicebreakfast buffethotel restaurantroom was cleanfree shuttlemy sonenjoyed my stayexcellent hotelconvenient locationcollege tourfront desk stafffirst ratecan't beat the locationin town
Filter
Updating list...
579 - 584 of 668 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

How much better is it you are welcomed with open arms in a 5 star environment that makes you feel right at home at the In at Virginia Tech? Well as a well seasoned traveler, I can tell you this is the place to stay. When those things you do not expect come up, they are prepared. I took a trip to a winery in the area and on the way home had a reaction that caused me to be in anaphalatic shock and needed guidance as I drove and with my throat closing up. They first verbally guided me back to VA tech where the athletic trainer gave me help. Then they guided me to the hospital and stayed on my phone with them for the entire time. It gets better. When I was released from the hospital I had to have some one stay with me. The security officer checked on me every hour to make sure I was breathing. She would come in my room and wake me up as was requested. The calls from staff, the delivery of my documents to my room and the tremendous welcome as I came to the lobby today has made me feeling like I am around family. This of course is in addition to the lovely rooms and very comfortable beds and elegant areas. The lounge staff do not rush you and there are cozy areas to just sit and relax through out the hotel. Thank you to Scott Rumberger, Gavin Rod, John Smith, Dana Msundwe, and Ashley Jones. I give you a 5 start rating and I have stayed in many top respected resorts . world wide and I can honestly stay Inn and Virginia Tech rivals them all. My only suggestion is up grade the soap and shampoo to a creamier version, add a pool or hot tub and you would be perfect. Thank you for helping save my life. I will stay here when ever possible. Shari

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharilynne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear Sharilynne -

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Blacksburg and for recognizing the extra efforts of our staff during your stay with us. They join me in thanking you for mentioning their special attention and service.

I'm sorry that your visit to the winery caused such a crisis. We are glad that you are feeling better and we look forward to accommodating you again on future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Room was quiet. Close to downtown. Wonderful breakfast and a well stocked lounge.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HokieinSpartanburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Hokie in Spartanburg:

Thank you for the notes about your recent stay with us. Your business is appreciated and we hope to see you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I were given the gift of a free night's stay at the Inn At Virginia Tech, and were excited to see what all the hype was about. Check-in was prompt and courteous, if a little "overly formal" for my taste, but that was par for the course with this facility. Our King Room (Room 233) was nice and spacious, but not overly appointed. I was disappointed that there was no mini fridge or microwave inside the room. For the price that most people pay to stay here, I would certainly expect this ammenity. I also think a pool would be nice, since there isn't really anything to do in the immediate area. Overall, the hotel was nice, neat and clean, just not worth what they charge to stay there in my personal opinion.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Jessica:

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the accommodations but appreciate your opinions. We will be completing a few upgrades to our facilities this year. I hope you will return and see the results of our improvement efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at the Inn for 5 nights during my husband's recent attendance of a conference at the Skelton Center (hence perfect location).
The exterior and lobby of the hotel is elegant, and the standard room is spacious and clean. The room looks like it has been recently revovated / updated, but the facilities are older ( e.g. CRT TV). For a 3.5 star hotel I would expect there is a small fridge in the room but there is none ( have access to ice though).
Staff were friendly and helpful. I had particularly good experience with the house keeping staff, who provided their service around my schedule, when I often stayed in the hotel room all morning with my baby.
The free high speed Internet is VERY fast, which compensates for the lack of cell phone reception inside the hotel ( stone walls stopped the signals going through).
For my recent stay, the Inn met all expectation of a 3.5 star conference hotel. For improvements, it may help if staff can be more knowledgeable of other tourist / traveller facility nearby, e.g supermarket, playground, a running route, etc.
And add a fridge, of course.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Maetre:

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests.

Your recognition of our Housekeeping staff is appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The place is nice and clean but food from room service is terrible. Ordered a tomato bisque which was unedible due to the saltiness and the salad was also too salty. Should have sent it back but it was late in the pm to send it back. So disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMBxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear AMBxxx:

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Blacksburg. We appreciate your business and thank you for your comments about your stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the problem with your Room Service order. I can certainly understand your reaction to the salty taste you described. If you will contact me directly, I'd like to reimburse you for the unsatisfactory meal.

I hope your stay was pleasant in spite of this situation. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you on future visits to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews