We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveler rating
453
147
53
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
147
53
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews virginia tech two sinks place to stay shuttle service breakfast buffet hotel restaurant room was clean free shuttle my son enjoyed my stay excellent hotel convenient location college tour front desk staff first rate can't beat the location in town
Filter
Updating list...
585 - 590 of 672 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I were given the gift of a free night's stay at the Inn At Virginia Tech, and were excited to see what all the hype was about. Check-in was prompt and courteous, if a little "overly formal" for my taste, but that was par for the course with this facility. Our King Room (Room 233) was nice and spacious, but not overly appointed. I was disappointed that there was no mini fridge or microwave inside the room. For the price that most people pay to stay here, I would certainly expect this ammenity. I also think a pool would be nice, since there isn't really anything to do in the immediate area. Overall, the hotel was nice, neat and clean, just not worth what they charge to stay there in my personal opinion.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Jessica:

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the accommodations but appreciate your opinions. We will be completing a few upgrades to our facilities this year. I hope you will return and see the results of our improvement efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at the Inn for 5 nights during my husband's recent attendance of a conference at the Skelton Center (hence perfect location).
The exterior and lobby of the hotel is elegant, and the standard room is spacious and clean. The room looks like it has been recently revovated / updated, but the facilities are older ( e.g. CRT TV). For a 3.5 star hotel I would expect there is a small fridge in the room but there is none ( have access to ice though).
Staff were friendly and helpful. I had particularly good experience with the house keeping staff, who provided their service around my schedule, when I often stayed in the hotel room all morning with my baby.
The free high speed Internet is VERY fast, which compensates for the lack of cell phone reception inside the hotel ( stone walls stopped the signals going through).
For my recent stay, the Inn met all expectation of a 3.5 star conference hotel. For improvements, it may help if staff can be more knowledgeable of other tourist / traveller facility nearby, e.g supermarket, playground, a running route, etc.
And add a fridge, of course.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Maetre:

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests.

Your recognition of our Housekeeping staff is appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The place is nice and clean but food from room service is terrible. Ordered a tomato bisque which was unedible due to the saltiness and the salad was also too salty. Should have sent it back but it was late in the pm to send it back. So disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMBxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear AMBxxx:

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Blacksburg. We appreciate your business and thank you for your comments about your stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the problem with your Room Service order. I can certainly understand your reaction to the salty taste you described. If you will contact me directly, I'd like to reimburse you for the unsatisfactory meal.

I hope your stay was pleasant in spite of this situation. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you on future visits to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I would have given 5 stars to this hotel because of large rooms (we had 2 Queen beds) and extremely clean and recently renovated carpets and curtains and pleasant desk staff
But inexplicably we came back one evening to find our room was unmade, with a note in the door that we had had a 'do not disturb' sign. Yes we did, but it was removed when we left the room at 10:45 that morning!
Do you need to get up at 8 AM on a Saturday morning in Blacksburg to merit having your room made up?

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Golfzilla:

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Blacksburg - and for sharing your comments about your stay. I'm sorry our housekeeping service failed to check back on your room and complete their service. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope to see you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I thought the room was clean and it was close to the college. I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LICORICE7021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

Dear Licorice:

Thank you for sharing the review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews