We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay for conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at the Inn for 5 nights during my husband's recent attendance of a conference at the Skelton Center (hence perfect location).
The exterior and lobby of the hotel is elegant, and the standard room is spacious and clean. The room looks like it has been recently revovated / updated, but the facilities are older ( e.g. CRT TV). For a 3.5 star hotel I would expect there is a small fridge in the room but there is none ( have access to ice though).
Staff were friendly and helpful. I had particularly good experience with the house keeping staff, who provided their service around my schedule, when I often stayed in the hotel room all morning with my baby.
The free high speed Internet is VERY fast, which compensates for the lack of cell phone reception inside the hotel ( stone walls stopped the signals going through).
For my recent stay, the Inn met all expectation of a 3.5 star conference hotel. For improvements, it may help if staff can be more knowledgeable of other tourist / traveller facility nearby, e.g supermarket, playground, a running route, etc.
And add a fridge, of course.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Maetre:

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests.

Your recognition of our Housekeeping staff is appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 574 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

The place is nice and clean but food from room service is terrible. Ordered a tomato bisque which was unedible due to the saltiness and the salad was also too salty. Should have sent it back but it was late in the pm to send it back. So disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMBxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear AMBxxx:

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Blacksburg. We appreciate your business and thank you for your comments about your stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the problem with your Room Service order. I can certainly understand your reaction to the salty taste you described. If you will contact me directly, I'd like to reimburse you for the unsatisfactory meal.

I hope your stay was pleasant in spite of this situation. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you on future visits to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I would have given 5 stars to this hotel because of large rooms (we had 2 Queen beds) and extremely clean and recently renovated carpets and curtains and pleasant desk staff
But inexplicably we came back one evening to find our room was unmade, with a note in the door that we had had a 'do not disturb' sign. Yes we did, but it was removed when we left the room at 10:45 that morning!
Do you need to get up at 8 AM on a Saturday morning in Blacksburg to merit having your room made up?

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Golfzilla:

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Blacksburg - and for sharing your comments about your stay. I'm sorry our housekeeping service failed to check back on your room and complete their service. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope to see you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I thought the room was clean and it was close to the college. I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LICORICE7021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

Dear Licorice:

Thank you for sharing the review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights while my daughter, a high school junior, did an info session and tour of the campus. If you're visiting Tech, you cannot beat the location. They give you a parking pass which allows you to park in faculty and staff parking. That comes in handy when you're driving to the dining halls or student centers on this very large campus. Room was clean and comfortable, service is excellent. Everyone at the front desk knows the campus well. We are not alumni, not that familiar with Blacksburg but everyone made us feel welcome. Had a glass of wine at the bar in the evening and I thought that, as well as the breakfast buffet, was a good value. If my daughter chooses VA Tech, I would try to get back here for all overnight stays.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockerMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

Dear Rocker Mom:

Thank you for staying with us at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent campus visit. We were pleased to read your review of our hotel and services.

If your daughter decides to attend Virginia Tech, be sure to join our Parents Club. It offers numerous great benefits you can enjoy while she is here as a student.

We hope to see you again in Blacksburg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The staff was top notch and the restaurant was fantastic with a very convenient location, however the accommodations had me hoping for more. I found the actual hotel room itself to be average at best. The bathroom was Motel 8 quality with a 1990's TV to match; despite that, the actual layout of the room was rather spacious with a nice work station. This hotel can be the best in Blacksburg with some further attention to the guest rooms.

Room Tip: The campus-wide parking pass was a huge benefit, keep in mind you'll be paying $3/day for it how...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UpstateHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

Dear Upstate Hokie:

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit to Blacksburg. We appreciate your business.

We will be replacing all the guest room televisions this summer. We also have plans for additional renovations over the next several years.

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Usually when one stays in any hotel, regardless of the level, one can usually find something to complain about. My most recent stay at the Inn at Virginia Tech, was a refresshing exception. I can NOT for the life of come up with a short coming for this wonderful facility and its staff. EVERYONE that I interacted with was genuinely pleasant and engaging. Even, the gentleman vacuuming the carpets on the fourth floor was pleasant and helpful. Buffet breaksfast was not only very good, but frankly priced much less than I would have expected. Do yourself a favor, stay at TIAVT and enjoy all that it has to offer. The only possible complaint is that it tends to sell out even when it's not football season. Can't wait to go back. One last suggestion. Ask them for directions to Zeppoli's Italian Restaurant, which is a short drive away. Surprisingly wonderful Italian food, homemade pasta, sausages, meatballs and breads.
Bill

Room Tip: Ask for a Golf course view room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

Dear Bill:

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at The Inn. We are always pleased to hear about guests that have enjoyed staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you on future visits to Virginia Tech and Blacksburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#3 of 10 in Blacksburg
688 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#8 of 10 in Blacksburg
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
1.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#6 of 10 in Blacksburg
223 reviews
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#5 of 10 in Blacksburg
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061-0001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range: $127 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing