We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roach Traps in Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Although I didn't see any roaches I found a roach trap underneath the bed. That was enough for me to not recommend this hotel.

Other than that this hotel seemed fine but it needs updating. Any hotel which doesn't have flat screen TVs and only has basic cable is sub par.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RBCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. The item you located behind the bed in your room is a monitoring station. It is a non-toxic device that allows us to determine if there has been any insect activity in a specific location. I'm sorry that it affected your impressions of our hotel. We hope to see you on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 579 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

I stayed at the Inn at Virginia Tech during my son's Virginia Tech freshman orientation. The Inn is so convenient to the campus and to all the restaurants on Main Street. The staff was extremely helpful. Because the Inn is connected with the school, the Inn's staff are really tuned in to all of the activities at VT, so we could ask them anything about orientation, and they always had the answer. Our room was clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The fitness center was good. They have three treadmills, along with a variety of other cardio equipment. and free weights. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalkC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Thank you for your notes regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. Our staff are enthusiastic abour our connection to the university. I am glad they were able to provide valuable information during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This is a first rate facility on the campus of Virginia Tech. It is clean and classy and staffed by professional, friendly people. With a child starting at VT this fall, I represent many potential stays over the next few years. If all visits are like my most recent visit, there is no reason to look elsewhere for my accommodations. The inn is within walking distance to campus and town for a $3 daily fee, Inn guests can park in many on-campus lots. All in all, this is a great facility and one I would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneProudDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Armstrong, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2011

Thanks you for the nice review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the service and accommodations of our facility and look forward to hosting your stays over the next few years. As I've mentioned to a previous reviewer, please be sure to check out our Parents Club program. It's our way of saying thanks and to offer special promotions to parents of Virginia Tech students who stay with us frequently. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Took our daughter to orientation at Va Tech. Stayed at The Inn and was greeted by the best front desk staffer in my fifty year history of travel, thanks Amanda! She attended to our every need, checked on us to make sure our room was up to snuff and recommended dining options in Blacksburg. The room was spacious and quiet, the breakfast buffet yummy and one can't beat the location to campus. We will be back many, many times.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vintage16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Armstrong, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2011

Thank you so much for your comments. We pride ourselves first and foremost on our customer service and it's great to hear such wonderful comments about our staff. With a daughter now attending Virginia Tech, you may be interested in our new Parents Club program which is offered exclusively to parents of VT students. Thanks again for the review, and we look forward to seeing you over the next several years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here just one night for a graduation. The beds were comfortable, the staff was very friendly and the location was super. I would have liked to see a hot tub or pool here. However, this is not a resort. This hotel is for visitors to Virginia Tech so it really shouldn't be rated as one would do for a vacation spot. The breakfast buffet was quite good. I would definately stay here again. Book your reservations early, this hotel fills up quickly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nashna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Armstrong, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

Thanks you so much for the positive review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The location of this hotel is key to a stay in Blacksburg if you want to enjoy the Virginia Tech campus and downtown restaurant scene. The inn is on the opposite side of campus from Main Street and a large percentage of restaurants in town. Be prepared for a "hike" through campus because there isn't a lot of parking and it just seems wrong to drive a mile to get to dinner.

Location, location, location!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMSRichmond_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Armstrong, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we certainly do enjoy the convenience of being the only hotel located on the Virginia Tech campus. Downtown parking can certainly be a challenge, so please feel free to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service on future visits. We can generally accommodate most requests within a three mile radius of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

This hotel just feels good pulling up. A lovely entrance with a big, open lobby with plush seating and nice views. Beautifully kept grounds. They issue you a parking pass that allows you to park in most places On Virginia Tech campus.

The room was nice, equipped with all the creature comforts, shampoos, lotions, etc. We were given a cot because we were traveling as a family of 4. Shower pressure weak. No complimentary morning coffee. Overall, we were quite happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitjohnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Armstrong, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

Thank you so much for the postive review and feedback. I'm glad to hear that you had such a nice experience during your stay and hope that we have the oppurtunity to serve you again on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#3 of 10 in Blacksburg
694 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#8 of 10 in Blacksburg
223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 10 in Blacksburg
230 reviews
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#6 of 10 in Blacksburg
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Road, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range: $124 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing