We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Friendly Service and Excellent Food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excellent Table

Excellent Table
Ranked #28 of 125 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Friendly Service and Excellent Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

My friends and I are your average college freshmen. We have very little money and big appetites. One of my friends wanted to bring us to a local Ethiopian restaurant. Everyone was skeptical, even when we saw the building. The restaurant is very tiny itself, but is run by the nicest lady. She was the owner and loved what she did. She cooked all of the food herself and even told us that we could sample the dishes before we ordered. After tasting a few dishes, we decided to order a 12" plate (feeds 3-4 people). We had a party of 7, so we ordered two 12" plates. One plate had spicy food, while the other had mild food. The chicken was fantastic! The beef was tender and juicy! It was just an amazing experience. She served our food very fast and man was it good! I would recommend this to anyone living or visiting the Blacksburg area!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HikerHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Despite the plethora of Ethiopian restaurants (many of them terrible) in DC, where we live, we went to Excellent Table on our way to North Carolina just to see what Blacksburg had to offer. The owner/chef, Haregewin, is delightful, and the food was excellent! She uses authentic flavorings and cooking methods with fresh local ingredients, and makes her own injera (Ethiopian bread for eating with). We had a great meal for a very reasonable price, and we really enjoyed getting to know her. Highly recommended!

It is a little hard to find and the seating area is very small. But, we found it and had the place to ourselves. Will go back next time we're through that way.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hb1038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield
Level Contributor
87 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food, at Excellent Table”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

You walk into a very small place, primarily designed for take out, and the owner/chef greets you and serves you with a warmth and friendliness that makes you feel welcome, and almost like a home. She will give you samples if you cannot decide on the menu, and this evening gave us an extra dish and complimentary hot tea. The food was wonderful, obviously made with fresh food and spices. The blend of spice and sauce in each dish created an array of flavor that was almost perfect. The bread is unique, almost gluten free, and a source of protein. Healthy food, with excellent flavor. Highly recommend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brookiefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent flavorful food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

My family loves to get food to go from Excellent Table, there are a number of things to choose from, and the menu rotates everyday. It is so nice to have something different to eat. The owner is very friendly. I highly recommend trying it out!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CookieChachaCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Was expecting more for less”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I recently visited Excellent Table and had high expectations after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. I was not impressed with the quality of food or the price. I lived above the Blue Nile in Harrisonburg, VA for quite some time and eat Ethiopian cuisine every chance that I get. I was hoping that excellent table would be better as I was planning before I even visited on becoming a repeat customer. The lady cooking was incredibly nice and genuine... Sadly, I will not be returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crownroyal911x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Excellent Table also viewed

 

Been to Excellent Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing