We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“fun ehtiopian food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excellent Table

Excellent Table
Ranked #28 of 125 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Draper, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fun ehtiopian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

their hot dishes are very tasty. not much place to eat in but great take out

Helpful?
Thank Countrygirl3050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ethnic place separate from the rest of Blacksburg!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

Personally, I am not a fan of Ethiopian food. However, the other members of my family highly enjoyed this restaurant. They give it five stars - I see no reason not to as well. The service was wonderful, the owner is very sweet and she is a graduate of Virginia Tech herself. She is a hard worker and has opened up this nice little restaurant in the middle of Blacksburg, there is parking right behind it though. My only complain is that it took us forever to find the restaurant, it is not facing the street and the entrance is in the parking lot.

The place is more of a takeout place with very little seating area. It is very clean inside though if you would like to stay there.

We got the spicy beef, spicy lentils, mild lentils, collard greens, and tofu with mushroom. The total came to about $35. The only complaint was that it was a little too spicy, but other than that the food was wonderful. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for something different.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank avidrestauranter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HECK YES, Excellent Table Rocked My Socks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Searching for an ethnic place that stands worlds apart from typical college town dives? LOOK NO FURTHER! You will not find a better takeout restaurant in all of Blacksburg, though it's worth a mention that the establishment features a small seated dining area as well. The service is excellent, food is top-knotch, and one serving will satisfy your appetite for an entire day.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovebooks57513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Holy cow! A real Ethiopian chef in our town is a real blessing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Delicious! What more to say. This is a tiny kitchen near the back of the farmer's market. The chef and owner is Ethiopian and so are the dishes. Very hearty food served on hand made Ethiopian pancake (Injeera), with choice of sauces (meat or veggie, spicy or mild). And Ethiopian coffee. Prices seem high but dishes are satisfying enough to share.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ahmni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food. Owner was very friendly and helpful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

First time I had Ethiopian food. The owner was very helpful by letting me try all the food she had available. The menu is different everyday. She makes everything fresh. I would also recommend her tropical ice tea. The food was excellent. And the price was reasonable.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank buick012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Excellent Table also viewed

 

Been to Excellent Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing