We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco & Luca

Marco & Luca
Ranked #34 of 125 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Nice lunch at Marco and Luca. Handmade dumplings with plum sauce and the cold noodles w/ sauce and apples were excellent. Very reasonable pricing. Quick, friendly service. If you want something different from your usual meal, give this place a chance. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DR24018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Level Contributor
401 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Not sure what the hype is about?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I had lunch at Marco and Luca and yes, the dumplings were good, but they weren't anything out of this world. The prices are low and the service is fast and friendly. The hot and sour soup had a strange taste to it, but overall, average.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunflower35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Dumplings for Cheap Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great place, originating from Charlottesville, VA. Cheap prices for a lot of food, and they usually give you more then just 6 dumplings when you order. Dumplings are the best thing here, enjoy the egg drop soup, not a huge fan of the cold noodles. Definitely will be back time and time again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AvidTravler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Dumplings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

You have to try the dumplings. They are terrific and so is the noodle dish. Great value for the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“New Category of Excellent Food: Addicitve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

My son (a VA Tech Grad Student) had discovered Marco & Luca and raved about its signature dumplings. I silently thought "What could be so special or different with a dumpling?" Then when visiting the University for Graduation Weekend in May ... it all became crystal clear.

In unpretentious location at the University Mall - just down from Tech's Infamous//Famous Math Emporium - This spartan eatery serves up the most delicious dumplings I've ever eaten. Priced right for the "poor and starving" student population every serving is served fresh and accompanied by an indescribably delicious soy sauce - and a touch of their hot sauce as well.

We grabbed a quick lunch on Thursday (my first visit); and then ordered enough for a small army on Friday for an impromptu graduation lunch for twelve of us. Then we were back again on Saturday for one more "fix" before I headed back up to NoVA.

From what my son has told me that other (limited) items on the menu are equally delicious - especially the soups.

No question - if for some reason you think you need to hit a fast food joint for a quick lunch - DON'T do it. Head to Marco and Luca. This is not just a place for convenience - to me now its a destination restaurant. One more plus - they've got a few outside tables for dumplings alfresco.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jhf0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco & Luca also viewed

 
Blacksburg, VA
 
Blacksburg, VA
 

Been to Marco & Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing