We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Too Much Hype” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Benny Marzano's

Benny Marzano's
Ranked #18 of 120 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Too Much Hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I'll start off by saying I am not the biggest pizza fan myself but I like to try it at different places when I can. I will say that compared to some other places, the pizza portions here are huge! However I am not a fan of their pizza sauce, it is very acidic and almost every time I eat a piece of pizza from here I feel sick after. It's very overrated and a large pizza here is very expensive. Best thing here are the Benny's cheese sticks but they often undercook them, creating a big doughy mess.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AvidTravler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Biggest and Better than all the rest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This Pizza by the slice or by the pie is HUGE. It is an absolutely delicious PIZZA. IT is not New York but it has its own incredible crust sauce and flavor. It is shocking that a pizza this good is in a small college town. The restaurant is rustic w very limited seating but don't judge the pizza by its decor. The taste is amazing and the wait is minimal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryAFNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GIANT Pizza with GIANT Flavor - NOM NOM NOM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

For only 5 bucks you get a GINORMOUS slice of awesome pizza to please your mouth and stomach!!!

The slice is so LARGE they serve it on two paper plates!!!

A whole pizza is so GINORMOUS they have to tip the box sideways to get it out the door!!!

Usually pizza places just have good toppings and the crust is just okay. Not here - the crust is AMAZING!!!

Come for the novelty of GINORMOUS pizza, keep coming back for the delicious-tasting pizza!!!

Sorry for all the exclamation points. I don't mean to shout. This is just REALLY great pizza!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Idandart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Can't beat their giant slice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Yes, the pizza is enormous....but its actually well executed. Their sauce is not too sweet and they use just the right amount and the dough is the perfect thickness to prevent sogginess. Love it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank noodle1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza - that makes a statement!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Size Matters. I love Benny's (as we call it). The quality of the pizza is outstanding and its just so much fun to face such a big pie or slice. The hours are perfect for the night time Hokie post pub time prowler, the after game tailgater, or any other time. Their delivery crew is great - what else is there to say. PS - Pepperoni is the regular order from me. It was the centerpiece to our Superbowl party this year.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jhf0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benny Marzano's also viewed

 

Been to Benny Marzano's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing