We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Real Mexican” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Mariachi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Mariachi
Ranked #23 of 125 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Real Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Authentic to the core, from service to food preparation. I frequent the Mexican Village area in Detroit, and this restaurant would fit right in....worth the trip and worth finding if you are in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, VA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good inexpensive quality Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

A group of us go out to restaurants about once a week and we visit this one regularly. The nacho Grande lives up to 'Grande' and is very good. So is their Combination Plate. The staff is quick to serve and the food comes out in about 15 minutes. We have never been disappointed here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pattynjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Restaurant in New River Valley!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Food has always been consistantly delicious since we have been visiting the El Mariachi three years ago! Try the fajitas--they are the best I have ever had anywhere and the portions are healthy and reasonably priced. The staff is friendly and efficient, checking on us several times to see if we need anything. If you like Mexican--you cannot go wrong with El Mariachi!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GODBLESSTHEUSA54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
“NOM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

My college girlfriends and I went to this restaurant ever since we heard about it freshman year (VT Alums!). We literally went at least twice a month. It is so delicious and reasonably priced. The staff is so kind, too! They eventually knew us by and name and could guess what we ordered. Haha! I definitely recommend the fajita burrito or lunch fajitas! AND ALWAYS GET THE QUESO!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful all the way around”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

I really hate to give bad reviews but this was just a bad experience. We sat at the bar because they were busy. We were not acknowledged at all. I think the entire wait staff are also the bartenders so each thought the other would take care of us! Not even a menu handed to us. We waited just to see how long it would take. There is no organization at all. We couldn't tell who where the "real" bartenders. We got to enjoy the show while one made a 5 gallon margarita mixture to restock. Cheap tequila and gallons of premade mix. Needless to say we ordered beer. Taco bell tacos at best.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CLynn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mariachi also viewed

 

Been to El Mariachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing