We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Bun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Mekong

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Mekong
Ranked #38 of 125 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Woolwine, Virginia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good Bun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Definitely a do again SOON. If anyone had the time to look through my other reviews here they would see I eat a lot of oriental food! Of course that does not make me a world authority but I know good food when I taste it and this was very good.
I had the bun with pork. The meat was very nice with tasty sauce/grill flavor. Lots of bean sprouts, noodles were well prepared, plenty of lettuce but came up short for the mint/basil. The dressing was very good and is what sets this preparation apart from others i have had. Service was good and fast.
It is a small place and certainly nothing fancy. It was packed with a line waiting when I left.
I am glad to see that at last there is some good oriental food in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Foodandwine60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    32
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Finally! Authentic asian cooking in Blacksburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I am not a fan of pan-asian restaurants. But this restaurant is unique in having accurate representations of Chinese, Vietnamese, Thai, and Korean food on their menu. Within each cuisine not all dishes are equally good. Among the Thai selections, the Drunken noodles, and Penang, Masaman and Red Curries are terrific. Not so for the the Green, and the Pad Thai is just OK. Among the Vietnamese selections the Bun is great and the Pho is good (but not as good as you'd find in Northern Virginia). In summer go for the seasonal chinese stir-fries, and the Szechwan Beef Noodles (really Taiwan beef noodles) are terrific. Staff are great, food is always piping hot.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulCBBg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

-large portions
-excellent Thai tea
-appetizer yummy
-entrees very good
-quick, friendly service
-my first Thai experience and I'd go back

Helpful?
1 Thank infamouskatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Fast service, fresh ingredients, authentic tastes....a surprise indeed. Suggestions given to spice accordingly so that all were pleased....from the novice asian eater, to those who appreciated the real thing....

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Poor quality meat make me a reluctant diner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I have eater here about five times. I have had a Thai chicken curry in which the quality if the meat just looked off. I didn't eat it. I have had Pad Sie Eiew several times, both with and without meat. It is always too greasy. I have had vegetarian Thai curry, and the flavor was rather one-dimensional. Not my favorite place to eat...

Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mekong also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Mekong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing