We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mekong

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Mekong
Ranked #29 of 123 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
66 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

-large portions
-excellent Thai tea
-appetizer yummy
-entrees very good
-quick, friendly service
-my first Thai experience and I'd go back

Helpful?
1 Thank infamouskatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    31
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Fast service, fresh ingredients, authentic tastes....a surprise indeed. Suggestions given to spice accordingly so that all were pleased....from the novice asian eater, to those who appreciated the real thing....

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Poor quality meat make me a reluctant diner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I have eater here about five times. I have had a Thai chicken curry in which the quality if the meat just looked off. I didn't eat it. I have had Pad Sie Eiew several times, both with and without meat. It is always too greasy. I have had vegetarian Thai curry, and the flavor was rather one-dimensional. Not my favorite place to eat...

Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible to go experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I was told 10 minutes for my order to be ready for pickup. It ended up being more like 45 minutes. The guy at the register was not friendly and no one realized they were out of what I ordered until 40 minutes in. Sorry but a free spring roll does not make up for that. Atmosphere is very underwhelming and during my 45 minutes of waiting I didn't see very good customer service. The food quality really didn't matter to me at that point.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dms9604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Very good Asian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stopped in the Mekong out of curiosity last week and had the beef Pho. It was excellent, with the freshest of ingredients. The seasoning was just right, and the portion was quite large. I went back again yesterday to try a different dish, the Vietnamese Chicken soup, which was just as tasty. It was filled with rice noodles, chicken, vegetables and served with a side of herbs, lime, jalapenos and bean sprouts to add to the soup as desired. Many diners around me were having interesting looking stir fries, rice dishes, and curries. Everyone seemed to really enjoy the food. The service is excellent. If you go at lunch, be prepared to wait. I recommend going a bit before noon or a bit later. They are closed on Mondays

If you have a few minutes, you might want to check out the Oasis World market next door, which stocks foods and other items from around the world you certainly won't find in your local food market.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RUtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mekong also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Mekong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing