We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Yummy Asian dishes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mekong

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Mekong
1405 South Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060
(540) 953 - 2838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 118 Restaurants in Blacksburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy Asian dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Our family enjoys comfort food that is a little different. We have been here three times in the past two months due to craving these dishes! We have tried Pad Thai, Drunken Noodles, Panang Curry, Fried Rice, and several appetizers. All was delicious! I asked the server who might have been the owner if she had a sample of Massaman Curry and she brought us a small bowl of the sauce. It was delicious too.

Helpful?
Thank Mahwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    29
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Level Contributor
363 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai/Vietnamese cuisine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This place serves the best Thai and Vietnamese cuisine around. They use quality ingredients and the portions are huge (even at lunch). The prices are low and staff is friendly. The owner also runs the world food market (Oasis) next door, so he gets all of his ingredients fresh and sometimes local. Love this place!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunflower35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Very good Thai food in Blacksburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Ethnic cuisine in Blacksburg is sadly lacking, so we were delighted to discover Cafe Mekong. Not much ambiance, but clean and attractive, with good Thai food and good complementary beers.

Menu is very good and the food is authentic. The menu is not very extensive, but manages to offer a good variety for different tastes. Our children have tried and liked several dishes on the menu - including drunken noodle and ribs. My wife, who isn't a spice fan, likes the pad thai. I like my thai spicy, and have enjoyed several curries and some other dishes on the menu.

Service has been uniformly good on our three or four visits, and the food is excellent. Recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ceejaysquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
“It's our regular place for Thai and Vietnamese - Nothing Fancy, but Tasty, Friendly, Fast and Convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

It's a hole in the wall, located in a strip mall, but we like it. The food is tasty and fresh, the staff is friendly and efficient, and they have an excellent selection of beers and ales from American Microbrews, Europe and Asia. If you are looking for a homey, humble place for a Southeast Asian comfort food, this is your place in Blacksburg!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BillHuber83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pho for sickness!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Coming from DC I discovered Pho was an excellent alternative to chicken noodle soup when feeling under the weather. Theirs did not disappoint. Spring rolls and chicken satay were also delicious. Friendly and fast when crowded.

Helpful?
Thank CoachC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mekong also viewed

 
Blacksburg, VA
 

Been to Cafe Mekong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing