We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to go during weekdays” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Mekong

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Mekong
Ranked #27 of 125 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to go during weekdays”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It can get a little busy during weekends and there is no lunch special in the weekends but the price is great compare to the other Thai restaurant in town. They serve plenty of food so we almost always have some left overs for home. Great place for students to go, meal is served hot and fast.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucius Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    31
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Thai in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were so happy when this place opened to bring us some new southeast asian flavors with fresh ingredients from the next door international market. I've had a Pad Thai that was a bit too oily once, but everything else was pretty good. I like their Penang Curry, papaya salad, and the Kalbee short ribs. The price is very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Thia in Blacksburg, VA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The food is outstanding, as is the service and value. Interior could use a little love, but the food makes it easy to overlook.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good food with reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I like the place. Very good food with reasonable price. You can have lunch under ten bucks. Tastes very nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaksudulAlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Bluff
Level Contributor
130 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Trying Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband & I love trying ethnic food but live in far sw va so we only get to do so when we're away from home. .As we were in Blacksburg, we decided to visit Café Mekong. I had looked at their menu online and knew they had many gf dishes. We tried their Spring Rolls with fish sauce and they were great,crunchy with large shrimp. We like to order 2 dishes and share so I ordered Pad Thai and my husband ordered a red curry dish. The servings were generous,(we took enough home for the next days lunch)and the food was delicious. I will say the curry was a little hot for me but my husband loved it. The staff was friendly and attentive, regularly filling my water for which I was very grateful.This was only our 2nd time trying Thai but I would definitely return to this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvbooksandblooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mekong also viewed

 
Blacksburg, VA
 

Been to Cafe Mekong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing