We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Consistently good food and instant service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Mekong

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Mekong
Ranked #28 of 124 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and instant service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Thai and Viet food in a simple setting. When I am one only a few Americans in the room, I know it's authentic oriental cuisine. I end up getting the same selections because my mouth starts watering for the same thing when I enter the door.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hughballou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    31
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Top Choice in Quality Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

The best Thai and Vietnamese food this side of San Francisco.the Singapore Noodles, the Bun, the Pho are all just excellent choices as are several of the appetizers. The chefs and the staff are attentive and will cook the meals custom for their customers. A friendly and pleasant place to enjoy lunch or dinner. Choose several different dishes, enjoy the warm and the cool and ut all goes together well.

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I Have dined here twice. The first time was with a large group and they had no trouble accommodating us and the food was brought out in a timely fashion. The other time was quite busy but we still had good service even thought it was just the two of us. The food was great both times It was worth the price. The portions are large, fine for sharing. I don't know how authentic the food is since I do not have any thing to compare it to. There is plenty of parking.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cascades21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Yay! Thai food in southwest Virginia!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Finally tasty Thai style food in Radford/Christansburg/Blacksburg area! Not sure how authentic my drunken noodles were but very tasty with spicy sauce and well cooked and well seasoned beef. Nice option to the proliferation of chains.

Food is the focus in the no-frills dining room but service was friendly and efficient -- definitely recommend!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandrian1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful addition to Blacksburg!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I came across this relatively new restaurant while dropping children at Virginia Tech and I am so happy I did!! This is one of those places that smells wonderful when you walk in and the food does not disappoint. I went once for carry-out and then came back with husband and another couple. We all enjoyed our selections including one vegetarian dish and curries. The prices are very reasonable, including beers. The service was fine. The only improvement could be in the atmosphere. While the colors and tables are all attractive, the lighting is very bright and stark.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wormula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mekong also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Mekong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing