We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Precisely what I needed”
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Precisely what I needed”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I arrived in Blacksburg after three nights on a Greyhound bus from Los Angeles. Exhausted and low on money, I was appalled at the online room rates ... until I found the Red Carpet Inn on South Main Street. Harry, the owner/manager, gave me a great room rate for #108, which made it financially possible for me to stay three nights instead of only one.

I give the Red Carpet Inn in Blacksburg my highest recommendation!

Charles P.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charles p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    47
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
40
24
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The place is clean and confortable, and its placement is not too bad.
The worst thing: customer service. The indian lady at the reception was very mean.
The 'free breakfast' the have is very poor also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

For a budget hotel I was impressed by the quality and cleanliness of the room. I also liked that the bathroom has a sink inside of it. Too many hotels have the sink outside the bathroom and that always bugs me a bit. Personal preference I suppose.

Also; the staff was very pleasant.

Planning on staying again next time I need a room in Blacksburg as it's about half as expensive as the competition and quite conveniently located (just a short drive down from VT/the bar scene.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joobajooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownsville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Once again I stayed at the red carpet inn, this time for VTECH move in. We found this place 2 years ago and have stayed here every time we go to Blacksburg. The price is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Don't let the dated exterior fool you, The owner put the money in what counts - comfortable firm beds, wifi, clean bathrooms, microwave and fridge in each room. The owners are very nice, friendly and helpful. We will stay here every time we are in Blacksburg.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 124 which is non smoking with a king size bed. the bed was great.love this convenie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel was a great deal. The Red Carpet Inn's manager was friendly, attentive, and professional.Customer service was exceptional. It has been renovated and the stay was comfortable.I was in Blacksburg for an overnight stay and found this deal. Great place to stay if you are looking for clean, comfortable, and value. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martij16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

the price is reasonable; this hotel locates close to the Virginia Tech campus; with free wireless available; Kroger and Wendy's in walking distance; i would really recommend Red Carpet Inn in Blacksburg!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cheng T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here one night for my son to attend an information session at VT. Coming from a Fairfield Inn in Fl that was a lower price, the comparison was like apples and oranges. The room was clean but I felt uncomfortable by the insecurity in the outer door. Room was clean but had an odor, that we left the door open for a couple of hours to air it out. Once it was aired out, the odor was tolerable. Probably would find somewhere else to stay if the opportunity arises. Getting a little pickier, since we travel so much for swim competitions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Protoceratops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#8 of 10 in Blacksburg
212 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
2.1 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#3 of 10 in Blacksburg
666 reviews
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Property: Red Carpet Inn
Address: 1615 S Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060-5823
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Blacksburg
Red Carpet Inn Blacksburg, Virginia
Blacksburg Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing