We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Red Carpet Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This inexpensive hotel provides a great value near downtown/campus and has very friendly and accommodating staff.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank kevinhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    37
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
30
22
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North, VA
Level Contributor
229 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed in many hotels in Blacksburg during my daughter's time at VT and while she was working in Blacksburg. Ths is convenient to VT, and shopping across the street. Certainly no frills, no shampoo or breakfast but it is very clean and a great value. Go to Our Daily Bread up the street for breakfast

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TIC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Great deal for being so close to downtown. Free Internet, nice guy at the front desk who's been there since it was the Imperial Motor Lodge, A/C was cold and quiet, new beds, everything worked. Just what I want when I'm crashing in Blacksburg. Hokie Bird.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EddyCyclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is a budget motel, not to be confused with a budget hotel. I went to the Kroger across the street and bought shampoo after I checked in. It appeared clean, had free wireless and was inexpensive. The owner at the front desk was polite and helpful. If you just want a place to sleep and save some money, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Teppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Exactly what I was looking for. -an affordable, clean place to sleep, take showers, and be in Blacksburg. A friend was also in the area, for the same purpose. They spent more money (by $30, at least), and were ~7 miles farther away from their area of interest. The refrigerator and microwave were relatively new, and clean. The a/c unit was in good condition, and worked great. It was nice having free cable TV. The free internet was especially nice. They appear to have at least 3 wireless access points, which were in range for me. -no problem with speed. The service was great. They clearly wanted to make sure your needs were met, and you were satisfied. Rather than being in an area where there were, like, 5 other hotels, it was nice being more downtown/business/residential, where you can find other things you don't already have (more hotels). For example, it was nice being close to Kroger (a grocery store). The place is not brand new, so it won't be like the chain hotels (with the poor sound insulation, etc.). There's not much one can do about that. The pool appeared to be undergoing renovations. One morning someone looked to be working on resurfacing, or something. I'm not postive, but . . . Yeah, when things are being fixed, build, or upgraded, usually there are tools/supplies around. -no matter how horribly painful it might be to some eyes. ;-) . If you require a pool, gym, lounge, etc., go to another hotel. -maybe one near your home. If you're going to spend more time at the hotel, and less out in the town, etc., you may as well not spend the time and money traveling too far. Tear it down and build a new one??? That's an old paradigm . -definitely NOT a modern '1) reduce, 2) reuse, 3) recycle' mentality. Sometimes it's easier to start new. Not here. They appear to be providing a great service with what they've got (and will improve).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

A shocking gap between Trip Advisor score and reality...

When one walks into a hotel "office" and is overcome by the smell of mildew... When the "pool" appears to be a place to store construction materials... When landscaping consists entirely of asphalt... When the best architectural element is garish college themed paint... Can the rooms possibly be well maintained? This place was so depressing we werent about to find out. It just needs to be razed. Period.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScaredStff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My family came for my graduation last weekend. We all stayed at Red carpet inn. The location is perfect for us. It's away from all the noisy campus traffic. But it's close to everything you needed. It is very affortble price. And the rooms are very clean. The beds are very comfortable with a lot of back surport. The stuff there are very friendly and helpful. It's a great place to stay if you are here for an event, or have your days booked, and just need a place to sleep and shower. If I ever come back to blacksburg, will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
2.1 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 8 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#4 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
1.4 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Property: Red Carpet Inn
Address: 1615 S Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060-5823
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Blacksburg
Red Carpet Inn Blacksburg, Virginia
Blacksburg Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing