We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal in town”
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed with my two children for a Va Tech Open House weekend. Best price in the area and seemed to be the closest to campus.

Check-in was quick (probably the owner's daughter? Seemed as nice as the owner has been reviewed!) Easily switched from a king to two doubles for just a little more - $50 - $57. Room was very clean, plastic covers on the mattress and box springs and the bathroom was freshly painted. Bathroom was also spotless. No extras like mini-shampoo bottles or hair dryer but the frig was huge and the microwave was also shiny clean. Towels are rather small but for this price, I'll bring my own if we return as Hokie parents someday!

Coffee, hot water and tea bags were available but there was only sweet and low. No donuts on this Sunday morning.

Room Tip: Be careful of the very steep entrances!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank bdaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Red Carpet Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 142 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2011

If you are looking for a ultra modern hotel, this is not for you. If you want a home place flavor and price come on down. The beds were comfortable, the water pressure great and lots of hot water. We watched the VT game on our internet connection so it's definitely fast enough. The owner and his wife are extremely helpful and caring of their guests comfort. Just a few blocks from VT, price is $50ish, great eats (owner can get you anywhere in the area). This was our 2nd visit and definitely will be where we go each time we visit our daughter at VT.....did I mention that the hotel is painted VT colors??? Go Hokies

Room Tip: Upper back rooms have direct access with no steps from back parking lot if you have trouble with sta...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
38  Thank Bethbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The Red Carpet Inn is an obviously older motel, but it was one of my most pleasant stays during a trip to the Blue Ridge Parkway. Rooms were basic but all of the essentials were there. The mattress was very comfortable, and the room was a reasonable size and looked and felt clean and in good condition.

The location simply can't be beat for the price. You're at most 5 minutes from downtown. Any closer, and you'll probably pay double.

Last but not least, the owners were perhaps the friendliest I have ever run across, which really made the stay pleasant. They clearly want their customers to be happy with their stay and, being a budget hotel, they focus on what matters.

If I'm ever back in Blacksburg, the Red Carpet Inn will be my first choice.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel are probably quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank Cory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I have stayed here twice and my daughter once in the past few months. Can't beat the location and price! Right on main street with easy access to the Blacksburg Transit bus stops to VT (only 50 cents each way). Plenty of places to eat nearby. Customer service superb, extremely nice owners, really go out of their way to help and accommodate in any way. Rooms have microwave and fridge, Wi-Fi access, not luxury but very comfortable and clean. Every other place in town is double the price. I plan on staying here every time I am in Blacksburg--can't beat the value!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
33  Thank 629OnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I stayed there for two nights, very good experience. The staff are very nice, rooms are clean, most importantly, the price are surprisingly cheap. Very good for the value. If I had chance to visit VT again, definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank Feng W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stay for 3 nights. It costs only 56$ for a king size room.

The sheets are clean but the room was dark and small.

Free coffee and donought was availble at morning.

I recommend it based on its price!

It has free WLAN service in room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Awesome_Coral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

great price, the rooms were very clean with frig and microwave. convenient to va tech. friendly, knowledgeable owners. a motorcycle group trashed their room and gave a bad review here when scolded but we found the inn to be very clean and came back twice more while we were picking up/dropping off kids!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank annapolismom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#8 of 10 in Blacksburg
222 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#6 of 10 in Blacksburg
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#3 of 10 in Blacksburg
688 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 1615 S Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060-5823
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Blacksburg
Price Range: $72 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Blacksburg
Red Carpet Inn Blacksburg, Virginia
Blacksburg Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing