We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Upscale Dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Preston's

Reserve with OpenTable
Preston's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 124 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: University City Blvd
Description: The leading restaurant in the New River Valley, Preston’s specializes in farm-to-table dining featuring premium meats and sustainable fresh seafood choices. Preston’s local artisan cheese selection, signature dishes such as the Cedar Plank Salmon, the locally famous Corn & Crab Cake appetizer, and - of course - sumptuous house made desserts are some of the reasons you want to visit. Preston’s is known also for its progressive wine list including many fine Virginia labels, hand crafted cocktails, and attentive service. Various nightly promotions make Preston’s always a fun place to celebrate great food and drink. Preston's serves breakfast and luncheon buffets daily with a rotating menu providing a variety of delicious fare including healthful selections. Dinner features an a la carte menu with selections for the most discriminating palette. Preston's is also the place for the New River Valley's finest Sunday Brunch.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Upscale Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Varied luncheon buffet. Tablecloths and cloth napkins. Well attended, but can hear yourself and your friends talk.

Visited July 2013
Thank Libby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, VA, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Thirsty Thursdays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

If you happen to be at the Inn on a Thursday afternoon, stay for the Thirsty Thursday specials and live.

Preston has many special events, like the Thanksgiving Buffet, as well.

Visited July 2013
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just Ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Food is not up to par with reviews or food on campus. Very quiet, 1950's large stuffy dining room. This is your grandparents favorite restaurant.
Food is good, Service is good. Menu is short and 'classic'
Try a restaurant up on main or in Christiansburg.

Visited August 2013
Thank taterhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Convenient location in hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our server was attentive and friendly. The rainbow trout appetizer was quite good. Several had a Caesar salad which had a heavy dose of dressing. There were 6 of us and the entrees ( fresh catch, beef and scallops ) were okay, if a little disappointing. The main attraction was the convenience - we had a full and busy day and eating in the same hotel where we were staying was appealing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
Thank VAlovetotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not a standout”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I've had a few very nice dinners at Preston over the past few years ... but my last two or three visits were underwhelming and overpriced for the quality.

The Thursday evening before graduation should have been a night of full reservations - we sat in the dining room only about 1/3rd full for 7:30 reservations. I should have suspected that perhaps the word was out and we should have opted to drive up the road to 622 North restaurant and celebrate there.

This last visit was for what I hoped would be a very special 'night before graduation' for a close friend of the family. We all ordered steaks - at Northern Virginia Top Steak House Prices - and were served fairly tough and over cooked entrees.

Service for us was less attentive than we wanted.

I may go back but only if invited by someone else who had made the reservations - but I won't be calling any time soon ... unless I see some new reviews that tell me the management has got the message and addressed the food quality issues.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
1 Thank jhf0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Preston's also viewed


Been to Preston's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing