We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enormous Subs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sub Station II

Sub Station II
Ranked #44 of 126 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
571 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Enormous Subs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stopped for a quick bite before a show at the Performing Arts Center and found ourselves in a classic college town sub shop. The interior was casual to the point of being a little shabby, the staff all seemed to be college age, and the menu was packed with large subs at very reasonable prices; plenty of value here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Natural Bridge, Virginia
2 reviews
“Meat, Sliced, to Order”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

I have been a customer of the substation for over 15 years. I was finally able to break my wife from SubWay after we moved back to Blacksburg. There is nowhere else she will go for a fresh sliced deli sandwich.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Austin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfecto!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Family-oriented, super friendly. Good was delicious. The staff and manager were very kind and generous. Know them personally and they are great people. Totally worth the visit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikaylaWendelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Subs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We make sure to eat at Sub Station II every time we're in Blacksburg. It's a family rule now when we're traveling - no going to Blacksburg or Christiansburg, VA without stopping at Sub Station II. The meat and cheese is sliced fresh for every sandwich. The atmosphere is fun - a typical sub shop in a college town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whimsicaltree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
436 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good food, restaurant needs a makeover.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

First time at the sub station. The food was good, fast, staff was friendly. The place needs a makeover bad. I would eat there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank klay36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sub Station II also viewed

 

Been to Sub Station II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing