We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sub Station II

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sub Station II
Ranked #41 of 123 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Surprised to see how low this is rated. We eat lunch here on every visit to blacksburg and the quality is always the same. There's no frills, just a basic sandwhich shop. The slice your meat/cheese fresh and have good toppings to put on top. The bread is excellent.

wish we had one in Northern VA

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BareTruth0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice subs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Their subs are nice and have lots of deli meat options, but the salad options are limited (compared to Subway) and I sure wish they had the option to toast their sandwiches, like Subway does. I think that's why Substation is still second to Subway on my view.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My favorite sub shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After years of being away from Blacksburg - one thing hasn't changed, and that's the great food and service at Sub Station II. Don't expect all-new recipes or one-of-a-kind subs, just expect great subs that are consistently wonderful.

The place is very Blacksburg with Hokies memorabilia on the walls and they always have a great special and the menu is a good value in general. Go here and skip the chains if you are in the mood for subs!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spatlovesbama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good sub shop, but not spectacular.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We ate here on a Friday evening in June. Not much going on in town, but this place seemed boring. All 3 of us had the special which was good as we were able to choose our toppings, Subway style. Good, but will probably not return next year when we are in town. We did like the VA Tech athletes photos on the walls.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach VA
Level Contributor
159 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Subs are subs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Not sure how to rate a submarine sandwich shop but here goes. Pretty decent subs which met my expectations and very similar to say a Subway. I had the tuna foot long and I ate the whole thing so I guess it passes muster. Quick service and cheap prices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vbdenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sub Station II also viewed

 

Been to Sub Station II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing