We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Souvlaki in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Souvlaki

Souvlaki
Ranked #14 of 120 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Best Souvlaki in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I visited here one lunch hour with a friend. What a score! I love the souvlaki and other pita sandwiches. Pair a pita with some fries and a coke and you can't go wrong. By far better souvlaki than The Greeks.
I love the location, too. It's easy to walk from campus and generally easy to find parking nearby after-hours.
The staff here is great. These guys and gals provide excellent service and strive to make your experience awesome.
The serve Hunts ketchup also, which is soooo much better than Heinz!
I will miss Souvlaki when I graduate!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stubtail304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very Good...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

One of the best Gyro's I have had (get extra sauce) ...don't be fooled by the building...it is a small place. But well worth it.....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluelava99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Lunch Spot in Blacksburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Without a doubt, my favorite lunch spot in Blacksburg! Great prices, generally super fast service (unless you catch them on a slammed lunch rush). Subs, Gyro, Falafel, Spanakopita, Hummus.. the list goes on!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Greek fast food in a great college town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

A tradition since my first stop in Blacksburg in the mid - 80s. This place is where I had my first gyro... and no other place I've been to in nearly 30 years even comes close. The restaurant is small, so don't expect a seat during busy weekends (like game days). Somehow, it doesn't matter. The food comes quickly.

Over time, the restaurant has changed the way it serves their gyros (they used to be wrapped in paper and foil and given with the instructions "peel, don't unwrap"). Now, it seems, it comes with just a paper wrapper. This makes it messier to eat the gyro, but the sandwich is no less tasty for lacking the extra layer of wrap. The gyro meat is warm, tasty, and has the classic slightly crunchy texture of spit roasted meat. The cucumber sauce is cooling. The whole wrap is a perfect balance.

The curly fries are a perfect accompaniment. If you like a lot of salt, you may need to add more... but I think the fries are just fine as they are.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank apojudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I loved this place once in a while while I was a student at VT. You can leave very full for $10-12, less if you're smaller than my 6'2" self. No frills here. Plain decor. But low prices and tasty food. Can't beat what you're getting for the price. Not very fast and not open late are probably the only downsides to this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souvlaki also viewed

 

Been to Souvlaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing