We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Delish!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green's Grill & Sushi Bar

Green's Grill & Sushi Bar
Ranked #21 of 125 Restaurants in Blacksburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The food I've had is fresh and tastes good. The dining area is very dated and small but that doesn't bother me. Have not tried the sushi but the Med. food is great!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kareen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Go Green”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This small restaurant is located in Downtown Blacksburg right across the street from the Virginia Tech campus and it’s a very popular spot for students. This was our second visit to Green’s Grill & Sushi and it was very busy both times we’ve been.

The menu offers an interesting mix of cuisines and dishes. There is a nice sushi selection, mediterranean inspired dishes, salads, some indian items, and a few traditional american foods.

During my first visit a few months ago, I tried the Grilled Chicken Tikka platter, which came with grilled chicken that was marinated in spices, rice, pita bread, relish, and a side salad. This was a massive amount of food and the chicken had outstanding flavor, which is a big reason why I wanted to return to Green’s this past Saturday.

I knew the chicken was good, but I decided to try something a little different for lunch and ordered the Turkish Beef Sandwich with a side salad. Similar to the chicken, the ground beef had terrific flavor and paired very well on the warm pita with onions, tomatoes, and relish. I tasted hints of nutmeg and cinnamon in the beef, which are spices I wouldn’t normally associate with ground beef but loved the flavors anyway. The sandwich and salad was plenty of food and a reasonable value at around $8.00.

I’ve been extremely impressed with the food during both of our visits to Green’s Grill and Sushi. After ordering two items that featured food from the grill, it must be time to now try the sushi.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FromBallparkstoBBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“not too impressed.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

It was just ok .. service very slow and mediocre food... go to Gilleys down the street instead for a better meal.

.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank flossgloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eclectic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I thought this was just a sushi place, but it's not. The Mediterranean food is delicious--especially the shawarma. The dining area is very small and cramped, but it's pleasant. Staff is friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JSAX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Try their fish and chips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The fish and chips are amazing. The sushi selections and the salads are alright too. Go on Wed-Thu for a free futomaki upgrade.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green's Grill & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Green's Grill & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing