We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing Sushi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green's Grill & Sushi Bar

Green's Grill & Sushi Bar
Ranked #21 of 125 Restaurants in Blacksburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The sushi is wonderful and so tasty! They have amazing specials and the food is so fresh such a great place for lunch or dinner!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Decent Sushi for Blacksburg”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Went here once freshmen year to get my sushi fix. You can order ahead which is nice however the sushi wasn't anything above average. Might be back to try some other things on the menu.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AvidTravler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty, creative sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was one of our favorite spots in Blacksburg. The sushi here is delicious! They have the rolls you'd expect, and several creative combinations, too. Not a traditional Japanese experience, but it's great. Check out the weekly specials, too--some nights it's a free sushi upgrade, some nights it's discounted wine, etc. Dinner here and then a movie at the Lyric next door? That's a great evening.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank starryeyed113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Something for everybody?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Along the restaurants on College Avenue lies Green's Grill and Sushi Bar. Don't miss the entrance, it is just off to the side. Although they say "Grill and Sushi" is NOT a teppanyaki grill with the theatrical Japanese chef: if that is what you are looking for, go elsewhere. Green's has great salads, above-average sushi, a very good selection of cold bottled beers, a few nice wine selections, and a staff that is eager to please. The portions are generous without being overwhelming. I especially liked the eponymous "Green's Salad," with romaine, avocado, spinach, pineapples, walnuts, lemon juice, and EVOO. The family dug-in on the Pita Pesto Pizza. Great stuff!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DocChesapeake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best fries ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

If you are in the Blacksburg area, you have to try Green's. I am not a sushi person, but my boys are and they say it is excellent. I go for the burgers and fries. The fries are tempera dipped and have a crispy outer coating that is so good you just have to have another. They also have a fish and chips appetizer that I sometimes get for a meal with a side salad. The burgers are always yummie. The Green's burger with avocado is superb. It is in a college town, so the atmosphere is very casual and when the students are around it can get loud. I love the charm of a college town and the young energy, so it adds to the enjoyment of lunch or dinner.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green's Grill & Sushi Bar also viewed

 
Blacksburg, VA
 

Been to Green's Grill & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing